Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 140 years


Pay & Donate in the MHS Online Shop

Manitoba History No. 89

No. 89

MHS Multicultural Dinner 2019

Spring Field Trip 2019
Field Trip

War Memorials in Manitoba
in Manitoba

This Old Elevator
This Old

Abandoned Manitoba

Memorable Manitobans

Historic Sites of Manitoba
Historic Sites
of Manitoba

Manitoba Organization: Manitoba Centennial Corporation

The Manitoba Centennial Corporation was established by Premier Duff Roblin in early 1963 to coordinate planning for Canada’s 100th anniversary in 1967 and the province’s 100th anniversary in 1970. Among its mandated projects were the construction of an arts centre in Winnipeg, which in 1968 opened as the Centennial Concert Hall, and provincial parks. The Corporation published a newsletter called The Centurion. Its initial board of 15 members, chaired by Maitland Steinkopf, consisted of James W. Burns, Donald J. Campbell, Laura Gardner, Mrs. Percy Genser, Doug McBride (The Pas), Rod McIsaac, William L. Morton, Gordon P. Osler, Michael Posmituck (McCreary), Rene Prefontaine (St. Pierre), Clarence C. Sparling, Jack Shapira, Mary A. Wawrykow, and L. B. Whitehead (Brandon).

Local activities were organized and coordinated by 128 “citizen members” around the province: George Aitken, Maurice J. Arpin, Phil Ashdown, John Banfield (Tuxedo), Dennis Barkman, Mary Liz Bayer, Jack Beech, Lorne Begg, Hugh A. Benham, Mrs. Bernice Berkowitz, Hy Bernstein, Cornelius Bignell, Alf A. Black (Rapid City), Dr. L. O. Bradley, Frank Boothroyd, Perry S. Bower, Bruce Bracken, Maurice Burchell, E. J. Campbell (Norway House), Daryl Chapman, Jack M. Chapman, Mrs. Sybil Cherniak, John A. Christianson, C. D. Ciley, R. H. Coats (Brandon), A. J. Coleman (Brandon), J. Clifford Cory, Roland G. Couture, J. D. Craig (Brandon), Miss Patricia Desjardin, G. P. Dennehy, Jim Doak (Virden), J. Doig, Charles Dojack, Alvin Druxerman, P. Anne DuMoulin, Paul G. DuVal, Ferdinand Eckhardt, Henry J. Einarson, Roy Farley (Forrest), Dr. Victor Feldbrill, Don Francis (Brandon), Peter Freeman (Brandon), W. Burke Garnett (Russell), Sam Goodman, H. Byron Gourley, William H. Gray, Douglas Groff, Mrs. Justice R. D. Guy, Mrs. Erna Hartman, Ann D. Henry, John S. Hirsch, Ray Howard (Birtle), John Howarth, William D. Hurst, Jimmy James, Charles Joyce, Ian Jessiman, Arthur Johnson, Sol Kanee, Dave Kaufman, George A. Keats, A. G. Kennedy, R. A. Kipp, Mrs. Helen Klass, Gordon Lawson, Sylvan Leipsic, W. Russel Leslie, Mrs. Sinclair Levack, Brunelle Leveille, Miss Elizabeth Long, Wesley C. Lorimer, Ross Malabar, Frank A. L. Mathewson, Blair McAulay, Don McCarthy, Mrs. Dorothy McConnell (Hamiota), J. Hugh McDonald, Don McGill, N. R. McMillan (Minnedosa), Frank O. Meighen, Linus Miller (Erickson), Alfred M. Monnin, Mrs. J. M. Moore, Billy Mosienko, Stew Millet, Byron Milton, Mrs. Betty Nickerson, Nathan Nurgitz, Tom Olenick, Bill Olson (Lundar), Miss Lois Parkhill, J. D. Penner (Steinbach), Edward B. Pitblado, William M. Rait, Dave Reimer (Steinbach), Alexander Robertson, Mrs. Arthur Ross (Melita), Marshall Rothstein, Edgar S. Russenholt, Ross Sadler (Birch River), Sam Sair, A. J. Sawatsky (Morris), N. Serenuk (Sandy Lake), David Slater, Bob Smethurst, C. Gordon Smith, Dick Smith, Sidney J. Spivak, Howard Spohn, A. K. Stephens, J. E. Stewart, Mrs. Avis Stringer, Richard W. M. Sutton, Kelly Sveinson, A. R. Swanson, Andrew Swartz, Mrs. Robert Taft, Allan E. Tarr, Elmer Thompson (Flin Flon), George E. Tritschler, R. D. Turner, Ernie Vialoux (Charleswood), Christopher J. Vickers, Mrs. A. Villam (Minnedosa), Mrs. Muriel Westwood (Rivers), Ron Williams, Jack H. Wells, Karl Wintemute, M. M. Wocks, and Dan Zaharia.

Other community members added later included Valerie G. Fraser, Burton A. Robinson, and Robert A. Steen.

See also:

Memorable Manitobans: Manitoba Order of the Crocus


“Giant team to plan for centennial,” Winnipeg Free Press, 13 September 1963, page 3.

“These Manitobans will help plan centennial,” Winnipeg Free Press, 13 September 1963, page 9.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 21 January 2018

Back to top of page


To report an error on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations Policy

© 1998-2019 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.