Why is this page orange?

Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Manitoba Organization: Armstrong Municipal School District No. 1842

The Armstrong Municipal School District was formed in May 1936 by merging several smaller school districts operating within the Rural Municipality of Armstrong, as follows:

Booth School

Buffalo Lake School

Chatfield School

Clematis School

Cossette School

Fish Lake School

Hythe School

Monar School

Narcisse School

Rondeau School

Skogan School

Spruce View School

Union Prairie School

Willowview School

In 1967, the district became part of Lakeshore School Division.

Historic Sites:

See a map of schools in the Armstrong Municipal School District.


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

School District Formation Files [Armstrong Municipal School District No. 1842], GR1688, E0027, Archives of Manitoba.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 9 March 2015

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.