Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Wentworth School No. 1801 (RM of Rosser)

Link to:
Principals | Vice-Principals | Teachers | Photos & Coordinates | Sources

The Wentworth School District was organized formally in August 1915. A year later, in August 1916, the district took out a $10,000 debenture to pay for a schoolhouse. Late that year, work began on a two-storey, two-classroom brick school building was erected on a design by Winnipeg architect Eldred Dodsworth Tuttle, on the southeast quarter of 26-11-2 east of the Principal Meridian in the Rural Municipality of Rosser (a site now within the City of Winnipeg). During construction of the building, a bricklayer was killed when a brick wall collapsed, a result attributed by the architect to the contractor’s poor workmanship. At the time, further construction deviations from the blueprints were identified. In August 1917, a further $5,500 debenture was issued to finance remaining construction work and finish furnishing the school. Electrical lighting was added to the facility in 1948.

In 1958, Wentworth became part of the Rosser Municipal School District No. 2356. In April 1963, ownership of the land and building were transferred to the Winnipeg School Division and the school closed upon completion of the 1962-1963 school year. The building was demolished in July 1963. (During demolition, the wreckers mistakenly began to tear down the nearby vacant Woodsworth School building belonging to the Brooklands School District.)





Richard Ellice [Ellis] Brown (1846-1918)


Maurice Sanger


Annie Elizabeth Mills (c1882-1959)


Mary Ann MacKenzie Cockett (c1884-?)


Harold Arthur Whitfield (1876-1951)


Emily Margaret Cox


Caroline Irene McLeod Queen (1906-1993)


Louise Amelia Neilson MacKillop (1898-1987)




William Kowalchuk


Marie Isabel Cosens


Robert L. Krysko





Marion A. Buckley [Brickley?] (all grades, Fall 1915), Margaret S. Mathews (all grades, Spring 1916)


Richard E. Brown (all grades)


Richard E. Brown (grades 4-8, September-December), John R. Maills [Mills?] (grades 1-3), Maurice Sanger (grades 4-8, January-June)


Myra W. C. Atkinson (grades 1-3), Annie Elizabeth Mills (grades 4-9)


Myra W. C. Atkinson (grades 1-3), Mary A. MacKenzie (grades 4-8)


Myra W. C. Atkinson (grades 1-3), Mary A. MacKenzie (grades 4-8)


Myra W. C. Atkinson (grades 1-3), Mary A. MacKenzie (grades 4-8)


Myra W. C. Atkinson (grades 1-3), Mary A. MacKenzie (grades 4-8)


Myra W. C. Atkinson (grades 1-4), Mary A. MacKenzie (grades 4-8)


Mary Jane Parkins (grades 1-3), Harold Arthur Whitfield (grades 4-9)


Annie Mabel Beldon (grades 1-3, 1925), Emily Margaret Cox (grades 4-7), Marguerite Tod (grades 1-3, 1926)


Emily Margaret Cox (grades 4-8), Marguerite Tod (grades 1-3)


Emily Margaret Cox (grades 4-8), Caroline Irene McLeod (grades 1-3)


Caroline Irene McLeod (grades 4-8), Louise Neilson (grades 1-3)


Caroline Irene McLeod (grades 4-8), Louise Neilson (grades 1-3)


Caroline Irene McLeod (grades 4-8), Louise Neilson (grades 1-3)


Caroline Irene McLeod (grades 4-8), Louise Neilson (grades 1-3)


Caroline Irene McLeod (grades 5-8), Louise Neilson (grades 1-4)


Caroline Irene McLeod (grades 5-8), Louise Neilson (grades 1-4)


Caroline Irene McLeod (grades 5-9), Louise Neilson (grades 1-4)


Louise Neilson (grades 5-9), Beatrice May Williams (grades 1-4)


See below


William Kowalchuk (grades 5-8), Kay Ann Karalash Snatenchuk (grades 1-4)


Marie Isabel Cosens (grades 5-8), Kay Ann Karalash Snatenchuk (grades 1-4)


Marie Isabel Cosens (grades 5-8), Kay Ann Karalash Snatenchuk (grades 1-4)


Robert L. Krysko (grades 5-8), Kay Ann Karalash Snatenchuk (grades 1-4)

From the fall of 1936 through the spring of 1959, the school was a single-teacher operation; its staff including Louise Neilson (Fall 1936), William Gudjon Johnson (Spring 1937 - Spring 1942), Elizabeth Elsie Swan (Fall 1942 - Spring 1943), David A. Brown (Fall 1943), Margaret Cynthia Heming (Spring 1944 - Spring 1945), Miss C. Flemming (c1945), George Wesley Bartlett (Fall 1945), David Alexander Wesley Brown (Spring 1946), Lena Quiring (Fall 1946 - Spring 1948), Grace Emily Stevens (Fall 1948 - Spring 1949), Mrs. Leah Bourke (Fall 1949 - Spring 1951), Alvin Bartley Campbell (Fall 1950 - Spring 1951), Damaris Baggaley Robinson (Fall 1951 - Spring 1953), Mary Evelyn Mazur (Fall 1953 - Spring 1957), and Mrs. Kay Ann Karalash Snatenchuk (Fall 1958 - Spring 1959).

Photos & Coordinates

Wentworth School

Wentworth School (no date) by E. D. Parker
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-3, page 38.

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.95018, W97.20765
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Memorable Manitobans: Eldred Dodsworth Tuttle (1878-1965)


“Tenders for Wentworth School,” Winnipeg Tribune, 15 September 1916, page 2.

“Killed in fall from scaffold,” Manitoba Free Press, 1 December 1916, page 11.

“School building walls unsafe, is experts’ charge,” Winnipeg Evening Tribune, 2 December 1916, page 6.

“Walls collapse to be probed by school officials,” Winnipeg Evening Tribune, 4 December 1916, page 1.

“Public notice [Department of Public Works],” Manitoba Free Press, 29 December 1916, page 2.

“Inquiry into collapse Wentworth School,” Manitoba Free Press, 4 January 1917, page 27.

“Whoops - Pardon my sledge-hammer,” Winnipeg Free Press, 18 July 1963, page 3.

Cummin’s Rural Directory Map for Manitoba published by the Cummins Map Company, 404 Chambers of Commerce, Winnipeg, 1923. [Copies held by Edward M. Ledohowski and Gordon Goldsborough]

Summative half-yearly returns for school districts (A 0051), GR0571, Archives of Manitoba.

Corporate Security registered documents (ATG 0089), #9 School District of Wentworth, GR12576, Archives of Manitoba.

Corporate Security registered documents (ATG 0089), #47 School District of Wentworth, GR12576, Archives of Manitoba.

Orders-In-Council (EC 0003B), Order-In-Council No. 27013, GR1530, Archives of Manitoba.

School division and school district formation files (E 0027), Wentworth School District No. 1801, GR1688, Archives of Manitoba.

School division half-yearly attendance reports (E 0757), Archives of Manitoba.

Manitoba School Records Collection, Wentworth School District No. 1801 Minute Book, GR2043, Archives of Manitoba.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

The First Hundred Years, 1893-1993 by the Rosser Municipality Centennial History Book Committee, page 103.

Henderson’s Winnipeg and Brandon Directories, Peel’s Prairie Provinces, University of Alberta Libraries.

This page was prepared by Nathan Kramer and Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 22 February 2023

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.