Manitoba Historical Society
MHS website:

Past Lane



No. 75

Local History


Historic Sites
of Manitoba

Questions on

Memorable Manitobans: Victoria Cross Recipients From Manitoba

The Victoria Cross is awarded for most conspicuous bravery or some daring or pre-eminent act of valour or self-sacrifice or extreme devotion to duty in the presence of the enemy.

William George Barker (1894-1930)

Alexander Picton Brereton (1892-1976)

Lionel Beaumaurice “Nobby” “Leo” Clarke (1892-1916)

Frederick George Coppins (1889-1963)

Robert Edward Cruickshank (1888-1961)

Frederick William Hall (1885-1915)

Alan Arnett MacLeod (1899-1918)

Coulson Norman Mitchell (1889-1978)

Andrew Charles Mynarski (1916-1944)

Christopher Patrick John O’Kelly (1895-1922)

John Robert Osborn (1899-1941)

George Randolph Pearkes (1888-1984)

Robert Shankland (1887-1968)

Robert Spall (1890-1918)

Harcus Strachan (1884-1982)

Ralph Louis “Ray” Zengel (1894-1977)

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Valour Road Light Post and Plaque (Valour Road, Winnipeg)


Orders and Decorations - Canadian Victoria Cross Recipients, Veterans Affairs Canada.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 9 November 2013

Memorable Manitobans Memorable Manitobans

A collection of noteworthy Manitobans from the past, compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Search the collection by word or phrase, name, place, occupation or other text:

Custom Search

Browse surnames beginning with:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | 2013

Send corrections and additions to the Memorable Manitobans Administrator at

Suggest a Memorable Manitoban  |  Sources  |  Acknowledgements

Support the MHS and

Back to top of page


To report an error on the above page,
please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home | Terms & Conditions | FAQ | Contact Us
Privacy Policy | Donations Policy
Website © 1998-2014 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.