Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Lloyd Norman Axworthy

Click to enlarge

Lloyd Norman Axworthy
Click to enlarge

Professor, MLA (1973-1977), MLA (1977-1979), MP (1979), MP (1980-1984), MP (1984-1988), MP (1988-1993), MP (1994-1997), MP (1997-2000).

Born at North Battleford, Saskatchewan on 21 December 1939, one of four sons of Norman Joseph Axworthy (1913-1990) and Gwen Jane Thomas (1916-2009), he received a BA degree from United College (1961) and a PhD degree from Princeton University (1972). After teaching at the University of Winnipeg and University of Manitoba, he was Director of the Institute of Urban Affairs at the University of Winnipeg.

After being defeated as a Liberal candidate in the 1968 federal general election, he was elected to the Manitoba Legislature at the 1973 general election and was re-elected in 1977. He served as parliamentary leader of the Manitoba Liberal Party (1978-1979). He resigned in 1979 to jump to federal politics, being elected in 1979, 1980, 1984, 1988, 1993, and 1997. He held ministerial portfolios of Transport (1983-1984), Employment and Immigration (1993-1996), Labour (1993-1995), and Foreign Affairs (1996-2000). He did not stand for re-election in 2000.

He served as President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Winnipeg (2004-2014).

In recognition of his community service, he was inducted into the Order of Manitoba (2001) and Order of Canada (2003). He received honorary doctorates from the University of Winnipeg (1998) and University of Manitoba (2004), and he received a Queen Elizabeth II Silver Jubilee Medal (1977), Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal (2002), and Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal (2012). He was made an honourary member of the Winnipeg Press Club.


“Grit MP’s father dies after lengthy illness,” Winnipeg Free Press, 21 January 1990, page 2.

Obituary [Norman Joseph Axworthy], Winnipeg Free Press, 21 January 1990, page 30.

Obituary [Gwen Jane Axworthy], Winnipeg Free Press, 23 June 2009.

The Hon. Lloyd Axworthy, P.C., M.P., ParlInfo.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 18 November 2023

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.