Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Tilston School No. 1437 (Tilston, Municipality of Two Borders)

Link to:
Principals | Vice-Principals | Teachers | Photos & Coordinates | Sources

The Eagleton Consolidated School District was established formally in August 1907 and, in 1908, a temporary classroom was built at this site in the village of Eagleton, as Tilston (in what is now the Municipality of Two Borders) was known at that time. The village was renamed the following year, but the school name remained unchanged. In January 1910, the original building was replaced by a two-storey, two-room brick veneer structure, built on a stone basement on a two-acre property at a cost of $7,000. Accommodating students in grades 1 to 11, it became Tilston Consolidated School in 1920. The present one-storey, four-room school was built in 1947, on a design by Winnipeg architect E. Fitz Munn, and the old building was demolished.

Over time, as student enrollment declined, grades were closed: grade 11 in June 1963, grades 9 and 10 in June 1966, and grades 7 and 8 in June 1968. The school was taken over by the Antler River School Division in January 1968. By June 1987, there were 17 students from Kindergarten to grade 6 and the school was finally closed.

A commemorative monument (with the original school bell) and replica of the former school building were erected during a reunion held on 5 August 1990. The school building stands vacant, containing scattered household items.





Violet M. Adams


Anna Angell


John Blain Stewart (1882-?)


John Alfred Hammond (1898-1988)


Florence Irene Robinson Hayter (?-1948)


Alys Danton Hunter “Alice” Robertson (1912-1995)


Jean L. McLeod


Walter Fahrig (1889-1937)


Jean E. McLeod


Robert William “Bobby” Bend (1914-1999)


James R. Nicol


William Henry “Bill” Bradley (1909-1977)




Frederick James Hall (1892-1977)


William John “Bill” Dutka (?-2008)




Ronald E. Stacey


Willard Ervin Rife (1890-1970)


George Ivan McBurney (1929-2019)


Robert B. Land


R. Bawtinhimer


Larry Verner Moldowan (1940-2013)


Eagleton School (1908-1919): Miss Lilly LaPointe (1908), Miss Myrtle Shaw (1909-1910), George Edgerton Snider (1911), George W. Hurst (1912-1913), Clarence Moore (1913-1914), Charles M. Hoar (1914-1915), Miss Hamlin (1915, 1917), J. G. Herkes (1915-1916), Miss Olga Clee (1916-1917), J. B. Saunderson (1917), Leon Leroy Nichols (1917, 1918-1919), and Janet More (1917-1919).

Tilston Consolidated School (1920-?): Leon Leroy Nichols (1920), Janet More (1920), Janet Brown (1921), E. Pearl McDonald (1921-1922, 1927-1930), Elvira Collen (1921, 1927-1928), Jean Brown (1922-1923), Gertrude McRae (1922-1925), Wilda Manson (1922), Lena Morden (1922-1925), Doris Bulloch (1925-1926), Violet Kerr (1925-1927), Florence Taylor (1926), Ethel Robertson (1926-1927), Ruby Wood (1926-1927), Ida Jane Finnan (1926-1927), Gladys Muir (1927-1928), Donna Mae Curry (1928), Anne Mary Smith (1928), Mae Berry (1929), Pearl Riddell (1929-1934), Edna Sheir (1929-1934), Ruth Bradley (1930-1931), Ted Armstrong (1932-1934), Gertrude Dobbyn (1933-1937), Edith King (1934-1936), May Pollock (1937-1939), Frances Peacock (1937-1940), Harold A. Mouritsen (1939-1940), Jean Armstrong (1941-1942), Janet Wilson (1941-1942), William McMurchy (1941-1942), Elsie Stowe (1942-1943), Mary Graham (1942-1943), Jean E. Donald (1944-1946), Marie Brydon (1944-1946), Marjorie Spencer (1946-1950), Gwen Tooth (1946-1950), Betty Munro (1946-1950), Ellen Schellenbergh (1946-1950), Mary Thomas (1946-1950), Georgene Lucy (1960), Hazel Adams (1960), Lila Garrett (1960), Berna Adamson (1960), Betty Birch (1960), Lila Wheelans (1962-1963), C. W. Anderson (1962-1963), Robert Krein (1962-1963), Lynn Switzer (1963-1967), Marian Switzer (1963-1967), Grace Nolan (1963-1965), Lila Wheelans (1963-1965), Lorraine Pelletier (1963-1965), Gertrude Bateman (1963-1970), Joyce Marcino (1963-1965), Glenn Tweed (1963-1965), Hazel Lamport (1965-1967), Mike Gavezer (1965-1967), Mary Chalmers (1965-1967), Grace Hall (1965-1970), Ruth Land (1968-1970), R. W. Huestis, W. F. Dzadow, Beatrice Siska, John Albrecht, Denise Olivier, Mrs. Ann Careme, Mrs. Velma MacDonald, Olga Zemlack, M. Lysack, Miss McQuaig, Mrs. Hutton, Mrs. Metcalfe, Eugene Burtnyk, Loretta Berkis, Valerie Smith, Sheila Clark, Ted Allan, Beverley Redshaw, Movis Halls, Darcie Herbert, Miss J. Gibb, and Beth Curtis.

Photos & Coordinates

Tilston (Eagleton) Consolidated School

Tilston (Eagleton) Consolidated School (circa 1912)
Source: Consolidation of Rural Schools in Manitoba, Special Report of the Department of Education for the Year 1912, Manitoba Legislative Library.

Tilston School

Tilston School (1920s) by George Hunter
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-2, page 117.

Tilston School monument, replica and building

Tilston School monument, replica and building (October 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Tilston School

Tilston School (circa 1986)
Source: Historic Resources Branch, Public School Buildings Inventory, slide 11.

The former Tilston School building

The former Tilston School building (October 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Interior of the former Tilston School building

Interior of the former Tilston School building (October 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Interior of the former Tilston School building

Interior of the former Tilston School building (September 2021)
Source: Rose Kuzina

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.39528, W101.31339
denoted by symbol on the map above


Consolidation of Rural Schools in Manitoba, Special Report of the Department of Education for the Year 1912, Manitoba Legislative Library.

Annual Reports of the Manitoba Department of Education, Manitoba Legislative Library.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Reflections of Time: A History of the RM of Albert by RM of Albert History Book, 1984. [Manitoba Legislative Library, F5648.A43 Ref]

A Study of Public School Buildings in Manitoba by David Butterfield, Historic Resources Branch, Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism, 1994, 230 pages.

We thank Nathan Kramer and Rose Kuzina for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 12 October 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.