Historic Sites of Manitoba: Burns School / Medora School No. 493 (Medora, Municipality of Brenda-Waskada)

Link to:
Principals | Vice-Principals | Teachers | Photos & Coordinates | Sources

Plaques on a monument in Medora, in what is now the Municipality of Brenda-Waskada, commemorate the Canadian centennial year (1967), the Manitoba centennial year (1970), and a reunion for the Medora School (August 1991). Erected at a ceremony on 30 June 1967, it acknowledges the rural schools that were merged into Medora Consolidated School No. 493: Otter School No. 411, Purple Hill School No. 487 (1887-1959), Old Medora School No. 493 (1887-1914), Medora School No. 493 (1914-1959), Mimosa School No. 532, Menota School No. 519, Berry Hill School No. 748, and Sherwood School No. 1478 (1902-1959).

Known originally as Burns School when it opened in 1887, on the northeast quarter of 24-3-25W, the building was moved into Medora in 1898 and replaced by another structure in 1906. Its name changed to Medora about 1914. A four-room brick school was erected in 1928, only two rooms of which were needed at the time. A third classroom opened in 1953 and the fourth in 1958 with the consolidation of the school with nearby rural schools.

A new, four-room school with auditorium was built between 1959 and 1960, handling students from grades 1 to 10. Gradually, over time, enrollment dwindled as grade levels were moved to Deloraine, starting in 1965 with grades 9 and 10. Five years later, students in grades 7 and 8 moved out. By 1975, with only three teachers left, the school was closed permanently and the remaining students went either to Deloraine or Melita. The building was then sold to the Medora Community Club.





P. A. Klassen


John Albert “Jack” George (1899-1970)


Victor Wellington Jenkins (1884-1950)


Gladys Lucilla Zell Hamilton (1891-1963)


Leslie George Robinson (1903-1994)




Ralph Ernest Mayes (1891-1969)


William Wallace “Bill” Wright (1891-1979)


Daniel B. Krucik


Earl Moses Calverley (1915-2008)


Gladys Lucilla Zell Hamilton (1891-1963)


Mrs. E. M. Young


William Wallace “Bill” Wright (1891-1979)


Kenneth Donald Bruce




Gordon G. Gunn


James Maxwell Taylor


Michael Rehaluk


Michael Kiedyk (1933-2011)


William Wallace “Bill” Wright (1891-1979)


R. D. Schmidt


Garth Martin


D. R. Martin


T. Sherloski


Gladys Nelms


Among the early teachers of Medora School up to 1917 were Henry Thompson (1888), Alfred A. Downey (1892-1893), L. Perrin (1893), M. E. Hawthorne (1894), Nellie Sutherland (1894), Alberta Logan (1899-1900), M. Frances Logan (1900-1901), Mary K. Cox (1905-1906), Mary E. Bidkin (1905), Elizabeth M. Borthwich (1906-1907), Mabel C. Tait (1907), Bessie E. Durling (1907), D. A. McKenzie (1908), Isabelle S. Fargey (1908), Kate S. Fullerton (1908-1909), J. Jean Clandening (1909), Arthur S. Robinson (1909-1910), Mary S. Clay (1909), Mildred Brain (1910), Ellen A. Finch (1910-1911), Theresa Switzer (1910-1911), Florence Perrin (1910), Belle Perrin (1911), Irene Johnston (1911), Laura M. Groves (1911), William John Gordon Scott (1912-1913), C. R. De Witt (1912), Annie M. Scott (1913-1914), Maggie L. Scott (1913-1914), Robert G. Sinnamon (1915-1917), E. M. Ayers (1915-1916), Gertrude K. Harvey (1916), Laurine F. White (1917), and Iva Jettie Stewart (?).

School Year



Dennis Cameron (grades 6, 7, 8), Ann Jason (grades 3, 4, 5), Garth Martin (grades 9, 10), Miss Frances Penner (grades 1, 2)

Photos & Coordinates

Medora School

Medora School (circa 1910) by Winnipeg Photo Company
Source: Andrew Cunningham

Medora School

Medora School (no date) by George Hunter
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 72.

The former Medora School building

The former Medora School building (May 2019)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Medora School commemorative monument

Medora School commemorative monument (July 2010)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.25829, W100.69543
denoted by symbol on the map above


Annual Reports of the Manitoba Department of Education, Manitoba Legislative Library.

“Announce staff,” Brandon Sun, 31 August 1961, page 3.

Brief History of Medora Early Pioneers by Mrs. F. B. Burnett, 1967. [Manitoba Legislative Library, F5649.M43 Bri]

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Bridging Brenda: The History of Brenda Municipality and Area, Volume 1 by Brenda History Committee, 1990, pages 101-103.

We thank Nathan Kramer and Darryl Toews for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 4 March 2024

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!