Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 143 years

Memorable Manitobans: Eva McKay (1920-2005)

Traditional elder, sweat lodge holder and healer.

Born south of Portage la Prairie in 1920, she moved to Sioux Valley Dakota First Nations in western Manitoba. She served four terms as a band councillor, and was the first woman elected in Sioux Valley. In 1964 she co-founded the Brandon Indian Friendship Center in Brandon. She helped to establish the Manitoba Indian Women's Association in 1969, and the Tatiyopa Maze School in 1979. She sat on the Brandon University Elders Advisory Panel for thirty years, was a cultural worker for the Dakota Ojibwa Tribal Council, and was involved with the Canadian Panel on the Violence against Women. She was awarded the YMCA Woman of Distinction Award in 1993. She died at Brandon on 23 January 2005 and was buried in the Sioux Valley Anglican Cemetery.

See also:

“Three Mere Housewives” and the Founding of the Brandon Friendship Centre by Scott M. Kukurudz
Manitoba History, Number 56, October 2007


Obituary, Brandon Sun, 26 January 2005, page 33.

This page was prepared by Angela Graham and Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 14 January 2019

Memorable Manitobans

Memorable Manitobans

This is a collection of noteworthy Manitobans from the past, compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. We acknowledge that the collection contains both reputable and disreputable people. All are worth remembering as a lesson to future generations.

Search the collection by word or phrase, name, place, occupation or other text:

Custom Search

Browse surnames beginning with:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the Memorable Manitobans Administrator at

Criteria for Memorable Manitobans | Suggest a Memorable Manitoban | Firsts | Acknowledgements

Help us keep
history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2022 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.