Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 143 years

Memorable Manitobans: Isadore “Issie” Coop (1926-2003)


Born on 28 October 1926, he received degrees in Architecture from the University of Manitoba (1948) and the Illinois Institute of Technology (1953). Practicing as an architect with Green Blankstein Russell and Associates and later a founding member of Number Ten Architectural Group, he was responsible for designing several buildings at the Fort Garry campus of the University of Manitoba, including the University Centre Student Union Building. He also designed the Royal Trust Tower, Rupertsland Square office complex, and the Provincial Law Courts in Winnipeg, as well as the Fieldhouse Gymnasium for the University of Winnipeg. From 1984 to 1991, he was President and Chief Executive Officer for the North Portage Development Corporation. He died at Winnipeg on 29 November 2003.

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Carter House (251 Harvard Avenue, Winnipeg)


Obituary, Winnipeg Free Press, 6 December 2003.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 21 October 2021

Memorable Manitobans

Memorable Manitobans

This is a collection of noteworthy Manitobans from the past, compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. We acknowledge that the collection contains both reputable and disreputable people. All are worth remembering as a lesson to future generations.

Search the collection by word or phrase, name, place, occupation or other text:

Custom Search

Browse surnames beginning with:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the Memorable Manitobans Administrator at

Criteria for Memorable Manitobans | Suggest a Memorable Manitoban | Firsts | Acknowledgements

Help us keep
history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2022 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.