Manitoba Organization: Fort Garry School Division No. 5

The Fort Garry School Division was created on 1 April 1959 by an order of the Manitoba Minister of Education, acting on a recommendation of the MacFarlane Commission on Education and the School Divisions Boundaries Commission. It became responsible for all secondary education, grades 9 to 12, within the area of the former Fort Garry Municipal School District No. 2361.

Fort Garry School Division later became part of the Pembina Trails School Division.





Arthur Alexander Leach (1915-2000)


Cornelius Van “Neil” Thiessen (1919-2016)


Henry G. Izatt


Jean A. Beaumont (1943-2016)

After 2002

See Pembina Trails School Division

See also:

Events in Manitoba History: School Divisions (1959)

Events in Manitoba History: Manitoba’s Rural School Consolidation (1905-1967)

Events in Manitoba History: School Divisions Boundaries Commission (1958-1959)

Events in Manitoba History: MacFarlane Royal Commission on Education (1957-1959)


Report of the School Divisions Boundaries Commission, 13 January 1959, Manitoba Legislative Library, SpR 1958 Education.

Announcement, Fort Garry School Division, Winnipeg Free Press, 17 January 1998, page 32.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 17 November 2023