Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 143 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Onanole School No. 2262 (Onanole, Municipality of Harrison Park)

Link to:
Principals | Vice-Principals | Teachers | Photos & Coordinates | Sources

The Onanole School District was established in June 1935, to alleviate overcrowding at the Clear Lake School nearby. A one-room schoolhouse was built at 7-19-18W in the village of Onanole in what is now the Municipality of Harrison Park. In 1962, it was consolidated with the Clear Lake School No. 2135 to form the Onanole Consolidated School No. 2402. It later became part of the Rolling River School Division. In 1964, the building of the former Whirlpool School was brought to the site and used for storage and classes. The original school was demolished in 1986 and replaced by a new structure that opened by the 1987 school year.





Ben H. Doupe


Rod M. McKenzie


Ben H. Doupe


Donald S. Lockhart


Alexander R. Patterson


Mrs. Kathleen Durston


Mrs. Mavis I. Johnston


Glen J. Hammond


Miss Doris Murray (1935), Miss Inez Virtue (1936-1937), Miss Rita McMillan (1937-1940), John Arnett (1937-1942), Miss Anita Heims (1940-1941), Miss Gladys McIntyre (1940-1941), Mr. Y. A. Mascivich (1940), Miss Enid M. Bygott (1940-1942), Miss Winnifred Esplen (1941-1942), Miss C. Johnson (1942), Mrs. Doris Reid (1942-1944), Miss Dorothy Carton (1942-1944), B. Hodkinson (1944), Miss I. Wery (1944-1946), Ada Clark (1945), Miss Gertrude Kaspenski (1944-1945), Miss Gloria Chorneyko (1945-1946), Mrs. Emma Wallace (1946), Mrs. Annie Walter (1946-1950), Mr. A. A. Kowaski (1948), Mrs. Signe Snary (1948-1951), Miss Theresa Prefontaine (1950), Miss Johanna Kristenson (1950-1952), Morris Hykaway (1950-1951), Mrs. Mary McBurney (1950), Joseph Stasiuk (1951-1952), Mrs. Ada Dillon (1952-1953), Mrs. Ina Manary (1952-1958), Mrs. H. Kloosterboer (1953-1955), John Naherny (1955-1956), Mrs. Mary McBurney (1955-1962), Mrs. Doris Reid (1955-1962), Lorne McMillan (1955-1956), Ernest Eisler (1956-1957), Mrs. Mavis I. Johnston (1957-1981), Miss Jeanne Munro (1957-1958), Mrs. Inez Brennan (1957-1958), Mrs. Viola Miller (1957), Mrs. Mamie Wetteland (1958-1960), Miss Dorothy Walker (1959-1960), Donald Nakonchney (1959-1960), Miss L. Long (1959-1962), Mike Skrupa (1960-1966), Mrs. Jean Skrupa (1960-1961, 1962-1966), Miss Jean Templeton (1960-1964), Mrs. May Halstead (1961), Miss Elaine Dalke (1961-1965), Miss Elizabeth Kay (1962-1964), Ronald Munro (1962-1964), Mrs. Leona Kucher (1963-1973), Mrs. Gloria Borgoras (1964-1965), Miss Carol Warnica (1964-1965), Miss Eleanor Lovatt (1965-1966), Mavis Shanks (1965-1966), Mrs. Katie Zachary (1965-1968), Isabel Warner (1965), Warren Mochnacz (1966-1967), Miss Cheryl Harrison (1966-1967), Victor Zieroth (1966-1969), Anthony Twerdochlib (1966-1969), Mrs. Donna Moyer (1967-1990), Mrs. Bernice Serle (1968-1970), Miss Edith Strand (1968-1969), Miss Evelyn Brown (1968-1970), Miss Shirley Harvath (1968-1971), Tom Emslie (1968-1971), Miss Sandra Dawson (1969-1974), Miss Linda Slashinsky (1967-1988), Frank Foord (1971-1988), Ron Shewchuk (1971-1973), Annabel Friesen (1972), Mrs. Doris Hayden (1973-1978), Mrs. Claudette Saquet (1974-1978), Mrs. Marsha Foord (1973-1980), Miss Joan McKenzie (1980-1988), Brenda Ullberg (1980-1982), Mrs. Leona Mackedenski (1980-1998), Greg Bryan (1980-1983), Marilyn Cochrane (1980-?), Mrs. Valerie Shellborn (1980-?), Brian Nicholls (1983-1984), Miss Kimberly Young (1984-1985), Darren Gusdal (1985-1987), Arnie Gobin (1985-1990), Mrs. Alice McInnes (1987-1993), Miss Velvet Neufeld (1987-1988), Miss Betty Anne Dalgliesh (1988-1989), Mrs. Jackie Greavett (1988-1989), Mrs. Stacie Cardy (1988-1989), Brent McEachen (1988-1994), Mrs. Jean Skrupa (1988-1990), Miss Rilla Spratt (1988-1990), Mrs. Sharon Furman (1989-1993), Miss Lori Robinson (1989-1990), Mrs. Alma Braschuk (1989-1993), Mrs. Cathy Sansom (1989-?), Miss Pamela Tegg (1993-?), Mrs. Gail Whaley (1990-1992), Miss Angela Harper (1992-1994), Scott Stephenson (1994-?), Martin Ingenmay (1997-1997), Valerie Carter (1994-?), Barbara Chapman (1995-1997), Miss Sascha Wohlers (1996-1997), Mrs. Holly Drieger (1997-1998), Mrs. Susan Davar (1997-?), Miss Laurie Gudbranson (1997-?), Wilfred Taylor (1997-1998), Mrs. Jennifier Workman (1999-2000), Miss Jolene Parsons (1999-2000), Bill Wesley (1999-2000), Farron Lee (1999-2000), Miss Sherri Carter (2000-2001), Mrs. Pat Farr (2000-2001), Mrs. Brenda Nicholson (2001-?), Ms. Mona Moyer (2001), Mrs. Lisa McLaughlin (2001), Mrs. Tracy McNish (2001-?), Mrs. Tracey Drozda (2001-?), Mrs. Leslie Lindsay (2002).

Photos & Coordinates

The former Onanole School building, constructed in 1936 with a second classroom added in 1943, a third in 1948, and a fourth in 1958

The former Onanole School building, constructed in 1936 with a second classroom added in 1943, a third in 1948, and a fourth in 1958 (circa 1986)
Source: Historic Resources Branch, Public School Buildings Inventory, slide 959.

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N50.62263, W99.97018
denoted by symbol on the map above


Wasagaming West topographic map, 62J/12 West, Edition 2, Series A743 [UFS Reference Collection].

Annual Reports of the Manitoba Department of Education, Manitoba Legislative Library.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

A Study of Public School Buildings in Manitoba by David Butterfield, Historic Resources Branch, Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism, 1994, 230 pages.

Onanole & District by Onanole and District History Committee, 2003. [Manitoba Legislative Library, F5649.O63 Ona]

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 31 March 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2022 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.