Historic Sites of Manitoba: Mowat School No. 1232 (RM of Mossey River)

Link to:
Principals | Vice-Principals | Teachers | Photos & Coordinates | Sources

The Mowat School District was organized formally in April 1903 and a one-room, wood frame building was erected the next year at SW7-29-18W in the Rural Municipality of Mossey River. A larger schoolhouse replaced the original one sometime in the 1920s. It was destroyed by fire in January 1951 and was replaced later that fall. The district joined the Dauphin-Ochre River school area in 1967 and closed in June 1968, with remaining students bused to Dauphin. The building is no longer present at the site, having been moved to the village of Sifton in 1969 and used for a short time as a pool hall, after which it was vacant. A sign commemorates the school at its former site.





Clarence Wilbert Fines (1902-1994)


Reta Victoria Breakey


Anna Terry


Dwight John Adolphus Dahlgren (1901-1992)


Louis Erwin “Lewis” Gendron (1896-1973)


William Fogel


Norman Ernest Wright (1906-1957)


David Kidd


Muriel Amelia Robertson Redpath (1906-1984)


Bill Davidson


William John Schultz (1899-1988)





Clarence Wilbert Fines (grades 1-6, 1920; grades 4-8, 1921), ? (grades 1-3, 1921)


Reta Victoria Breakey (grades 1-3, 1921; grades 4-8, 1922), Kathleen Kenner (grades 1-3, 1922), ? (grades 4-8, 1921)

The other teachers of Mowat School included George E. Basham (1904-1905), Miss Hill (1905), Mr. Barrett (1905), Bob Frame (1905-1906), F. H. Whole (1906-1908), Mrs. Emma Rice (1908-1910), Miss Marcroft (1910-1911), Alvin Swanton (1911-1912), James “Jim” Lintick (1913-1915), Grace Beach (1916-1917), John Mayne (1917-1918), Miss Kenner (1918), Fred Jarvis (1919-1920), Mr. Pepper (1920-1922), Rita Breakey (1922-1923, 1926-1927), Clarence David “Casey” Voigt (1923-1926), Ethel Whitney (1927-1929), Emma Serbin (1929), Mary Reid (1930-1931), Edith Watson (1932-1933), Anna Campbell (1934), Evelyn Davidson (1934-1939), Elsie Burton (1939-1942), Mrs. Mary Shannon (1942), Mrs. Ruth Galbraith (1943-1944), Mrs. Alice Drebnisky (1945), Nick Stokotelny (1946), Mrs. Garlinsky (1947-1948), Mrs. Muriel Waters (1949-1950), Wally Homeniuk (1950-1951), Rose Berezowicki (1951), Mrs. Beulah Waldack (1952-1954), Jean Zaplitney (1954-1955), Stella Orisko (1955-1957), Betty Fleming (1957-1959), Barry Knight (1959-1960), and Mrs. Ethel Stanley (1960-1968).

Photos & Coordinates

The second Mowat School building

The second Mowat School building (no date) by J. S. Peach
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-2, page 81.

Mowat School commemorative sign

Mowat School commemorative sign (May 2012)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N51.46320, W100.01725
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Mossey River Schools Monument (Fork River, RM of Mossey River)


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

School division half-yearly attendance reports (E0757), Archives of Manitoba.

Pioneers of the Mowat School District No. 1232, 1904-1968 [Manitoba Legislative Library, F5648.M73 P10, circa 1968]

Memoirs “From the Past”: Rural Municipality of Mossey River, Mossey River History Book Committee, 1999. [Manitoba Legislative Library, F5648.M69 Mem]

We thank Nathan Kramer for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 28 October 2019

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!