MHS Smarty Party: 20 October 2022

Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 143 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Ladywood School No. 555 (Ladywood, RM of Brokenhead)

Link to:
Principals | Vice-Principals | Teachers | Photos & Coordinates | Sources

The Ladywood School District was organized formally in October 1888. The present wood frame building dates from the early 20th century and is situated at Ladywood in the Rural Municipality of Brokenhead. It closed in 1968 and the building now stands vacant.





Hugh Connolly (1890-1970)


Wallace Ross Donogh (1887-1968)


William Skidmore (c1885-?)


Robert MacLaren Keswick (1894-1938)


Winnifred Dorcas Boughton (1900-?)


Jane Wreford Chapple


Eleanor Marie Collison


Edgar Burgess (1867-1954)




Thomas Patrick King (1873-1954)


Peter Anthony “Tony” Stefaniec [Stephens] (1913-2011)


Leopold Raymond Labossiere (1913-1969)


Virden Gable


William Val Yacula (c1908-1958)


Effie Pauline Koroluk


Walter Charles Malenchak (1913-1991)




Stephen David Bahry (1914-2011)


George R. Truba


Ben Warkentin


John McTavish (1889-1891), Oliver W. Thomas (1891-1892), D. J. Hartley (1892-1893), M. E. Alldritt (1893-1895), Mabel Howard (1895), Annie Masters (1895), U.W. Thomas (1896), A. W. Thomas (1897), Edward Gilbert (1897), Agnes Frame (1898-1900), David Howarth (1900), Elizabeth Hodkin (1900), Thomas Macdonald (1901, 1907-1909), Robert Fields (1901), J. Leslie (1905-1906), H. Powell (1905-1906), Amy Wilson (1909-1910), Wasyl Kolodzinski (1910-1911), N. H. Pilcha (1911), J. L. Powell (1912), H. S. Kawecki (1912-1913), S. D. Noldoezyk (1913), William Jerowsky (1914-1916), J. A. Yatchu (1916), Gertrude I. Shaw (1916-1918), J. W. Yatchu (1917-1918), Ivy P. Heuson (1918), Flo Smith (1919-1920), Clara M. Smith (1919-1920), Elsie Wyrzykowski (1919), M. W. Nicholls (1920), Nicholaus John Stryk (1920-1949), Sophie Cherry (1920-1921), Mrs. E. E. Connolly (1921-1922), Laura Chamberlain (1922-1923), Rose Stoller (1923-1924), Rose Silver (1924-1925), Josephine Griffen (1925-1927), Rose Laurel Shline (1928), Olive Kohare (1928), Olive Annie McLeod (1929-1930), Gladys Dobruzki (1930-1931), Mary Gryniuk (193l-1944), Felix Joseph Kulyk, Thomas Patrick King (1935-1936), Louise Wiebe (1944-1945), Mary Holyk (1945-1946), Louise Helen Puhacz (1946-1947), Joe Omichinski (1947), Sophie Horasko (1949-1953), Clara Lorraine Ilchene (1953-1955), Miss Nellie Angeline Lapchinsky (1955-1956), Mrs. Nellie Angeline Greschuk (1956-1958), Mrs. Marlene A. Truba (1958-1959), Olga Bilyk (1959-1960), Elsie Chorney (1960-1961), Mrs. Elsie Mosquin (1961-1963), Cornelius R. Klassen (1963-1964), John Schoen (1964), Jean Panas (1965), Mary-Jane Stefansson (1965-1966).

Photos & Coordinates

Ladywood School building

Ladywood School building (circa 1917)
Source: Education Department Report, 1917, Manitoba Legislative Library.

The former Ladywood school building

The former Ladywood school building (1987)
Source: George Penner

The former Ladywood school building

The former Ladywood school building (no date)
Source: Cam Timlick

The former Ladywood school building

The former Ladywood school building (March 2012)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N50.17938, W96.49804
denoted by symbol on the map above


Annual Reports of the Manitoba Department of Education, Manitoba Legislative Library.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

East Side of the Red, 1884-1984 by St. Clements Historical Committee, 1984.

A Study of Public School Buildings in Manitoba by David Butterfield, Historic Resources Branch, Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism, 1994, 230 pages.

We thank Nathan Kramer, Cam Timlick, and George Penner for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 15 August 2020

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2022 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.