Historic Sites of Manitoba: Crowell School / Ewart School No. 1287 (Ewart, RM of Pipestone)

Known originally as Crowell School District when it was established in March 1904, it was renamed Ewart School District in 1914. A one-room frame school building was erected in the village of Ewart in the Rural Municipality of Pipestone. The district was dissolved in December 1965 and its remaining students went to Sinclair Consolidated School No. 1051 or Reston Consolidated School No. 141. The building still stands at the site but the road through Ewart that once ran past it has been converted into a farm field so it is a long walk from the nearest road.

The teachers of Ewart School were Vincent S. Irvine (1907), Matilda Quail (1908), Maud Bain (1909), Ellen McKelvey (1911), Jewel Beers (1912), Lena Powell (1913), Lena Powell (1914), H. B. Pringle (1915), Sara Donald (1916), Sara Donald (1917), Laura Johnson (1918), Evelyn Brady (1920), Alma McKinnon (1919), Helen Stewart (1921), Grace Patterson (1922), Jean Frame (1923-1925), Mary McLaren (1926), Wesley McGill (1927-1928), Lewis Edwin Walker (1929-1930), Barbara McKenize (1931), William Neil Gilchrist (1932-1933), Rossie McMunn (1934), William McMurchy (1935), Wilda Anderson (1936), Alice C. Peel (1937), Arnold Chadwick (1938), Jean Henderson (1939-1940), Betty Barnson (1941), Eleanor Blackmore (1942-1943), Kathleen Bill (1944), Ivan Rainey (1945), Jean Davidson (1946), Elsie Wadman (1947), Doreen Baldwin (1949), William Majeski (1949), Pauline Roznowski (1949), Peter Lewco (1950), Louise Baillie (1950), John Wilson (1951), Eretta Lund (1952), Irene Robinson (1953), Kathleen Marciniec (1954), Mrs. Ruth Gerelus (1954-1955), E. D. Byblow (1956), Mrs. Della Cameron (1957), L. H. Bonner (1958), Arlene Johnson (1959), Mrs. Lorraine Clark (1960-1962), Rudolph Reimer (1962-1963), and Henry Buhler (1964-1965).

Students and teacher of Ewart School

Students and teacher of Ewart School (1914)
Source: Archives of Manitoba, Pipestone History Project 19, N14853.

Ewart School

Ewart School (no date) by W. R. Beveridge
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-2, page 91.

The former Ewart School building

The former Ewart School building (circa 1986)
Source: Historic Resources Branch, Public School Buildings Inventory, slide 1048.

Exterior of the former Ewart School building

Exterior of the former Ewart School building (October 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Interior of the former Ewart School building

Interior of the former Ewart School building (October 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.64661, W101.21744
denoted by symbol on the map above


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Trails Along the Pipestone by Pipestone History Project, c1981, pages 203-205. [Manitoba Legislative Library, F5648.P56 Tra]

A Study of Public School Buildings in Manitoba by David Butterfield, Historic Resources Branch, Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism, 1994, 230 pages.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 8 February 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!