Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 141 years


Pay & Donate in the MHS Online Shop

Prairie History No. 1

No. 1

Manitoba Photographers List

Free Press Manitoba 150
Free Press

MHS YouTube Channel

Manitoba Brick & Blocks
& Blocks

Endangered Top 10
Top 10

Jens Munk at Churchill
Field Trip:

War Memorials in Manitoba
in Manitoba

Fundraising Dinner 2020

This Old Elevator
This Old

Abandoned Manitoba

Memorable Manitobans

Historic Sites of Manitoba
Historic Sites
of Manitoba

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Boyne School No. 21 (RM of Dufferin)

Established in December 1872, the Boyne School District occupied a log building in the northwest quarter of 22-6-4 west of the Principal Meridian, known locally as the Salterville Schoolhouse. In 1893, a much larger wood frame structure was erected beside it, with separate entrances for boys and girls. It was used until 1930 when a replacement was built and the earlier school was sold to a local farmer for use as a residence at SE2-7-4W. It was standing as of the early 1990s.

The present one-classroom building, erected in 1930 with a full concrete basement and coal furnace, had electricity installed in 1946. It closed in June 1966 and the remaining students were bussed to Carman. The building was used as a community centre. In 1988, it was designated as a Municipal Heritage Site by the Rural Municipality of Dufferin. On 7 March 2013, the building was moved into Carman to the site of the Dufferin Historical Society Museum where it was put onto a new concrete foundation and is being restored. Exterior renovations were completed in 2015.

Among the teachers at Boyne School were Herbert Inman (1878), Theophilus Finn (1883-1892), D. Honeywell (1885-1887), Johnston A. Watson (1888, 1890), Ernest J. Motley (1889), J. B. Hugg (1891, 1893), A. J. Cameron (1892), Joseph Paxton (1893-1897), Albert Malcolmson (1897-1899), E. M. Hinch (1900), E. S. Smith (1900-1902), Roland H. B. North (1905-1906), Elmina S. Jickling (1907), J. E. Struthers (1908-1909), Agnes A. Brigham (1909), Allena M. McGillvray (1909), Ida L. M. Wyness (1910-1911), Jessie Immes (1912), Elizabeth Power (1913-1915), Eva J. M. Reid (1915), Enid Crothers (1916), H. Cecilia Rowan (1917), Evelyn Churchill (1917-1918), Dorothy Green (1919), Gladys Stewart (1920), and Dorothy Ethelwyn Frost (1943-1945). Others for whom the period of employment is unknown include Mildred Pritchard, Evelyn Pritchard, Alice York, Lydia Mallory, and Anthony Hogg.

Boyne School

The former Boyne School building at its original site (2010)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Boyne School

The Boyne School building being moved to the Dufferin Historical Museum (March 2013)
Source: Trish Aubin

Boyne School

Boyne School at its new home at the Dufferin Historical Museum (June 2013)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Boyne School

Interior of the Boyne School before restoration (June 2013)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Boyne School

Interior of the Boyne School before restoration (June 2013)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Boyne School

The former Boyne School building after the completion of exterior renovations (2015)
Source: Trish Aubin

Site Location (lat/long): N49.50231, W97.92942
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Municipally Designated Historic Sites

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Dufferin Historical Society Museum (44 Kings Park Road, Carman)

Boyne School Project, Dufferin Historical Museum.


“Cox – Frost,” Brandon Sun, 17 July 1948, page 6.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

The Rural Municipality of Dufferin, 1880-1980 compiled and edited by June M. Watson with the assistance of the History Book Committee, RM of Dufferin, 1982.

A Study of Public School Buildings in Manitoba by David Butterfield, Historic Resources Branch, Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism, 1994, 230 pages.

Celebrating the contributions of rural permit teachers,” The Valley Leader, 3 June 2009.

We thank Trish Aubin for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 21 November 2015

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Search Tips | Suggest a Site | FAQ | Acknowledgements

Send inquiries to the MHS Webmaster.

Back to top of page


To report an error on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations Policy

© 1998-2020 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.