Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 142 years

Memorable Manitobans: Haraldur Bessason (1931-2009)

Educator, administrator.

In 1956, he became the first Chair of the Icelandic Department at the University of Manitoba, remaining there until 1987 when he became the first President of the University of Akureyri in Iceland, holding the position until 1994. He was also editor of Lögberg-Heimskringla and Timarit hins islenska pjodroeknisfelags, a cultural magazine published annually by the Icelandic National League of Canada. He was given an honorary doctorate by the University of Manitoba (1990) and the Order of the Falcon from the Icelandic government. He died at Toronto, Ontario on 8 April 2009.


Obituary, Winnipeg Free Press, 17 March 2009.

“The ’09 honour roll,” Winnipeg Free Press, 2 January 2010, page H4.

Tribute to Haraldur Bessason (1931-2009).

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 1 April 2016

Memorable Manitobans

Memorable Manitobans

This is a collection of noteworthy Manitobans from the past, compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. We acknowledge that the collection contains both reputable and disreputable people. All are worth remembering as a lesson to future generations.

Search the collection by word or phrase, name, place, occupation or other text:

Custom Search

Browse surnames beginning with:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z

Send corrections and additions to the Memorable Manitobans Administrator at

Criteria for Memorable Manitobans | Suggest a Memorable Manitoban  | Firsts | Acknowledgements

Support the MHS

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2021 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.