Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Manitoba Organization: Canadian Institute of International Affairs / Canadian International Council

This national organization was co-founded by Winnipegger John Wesley Dafoe in June 1927 and its first local chapter was established at Winnipeg. Known originally as the Canadian Institute of International Affairs, it was later renamed the Canadian International Council.

Presidents/Chairs (national or local)




John Wesley Dafoe (1866-1944)


Edgar Jordan Tarr (1881-1950)


Gerald Carlyle Allison (1907-1972)


Kathleen Josephine Vanstone “Kay” Russenholt (1908-1989)


Marguerite Aileen Gunter (1912-2007)


Alan Edmund Tarr (1913-1995)


Lovell Crosby Clark (1918-1988)


Clarence Day Shepard (1914-2000)


Alan Abraham Klass (1907-2000)


“Borden heads international affairs’ league,” Winnipeg Tribune, 13 December 1927, page 1.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 6 January 2022

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.