Historic Sites of Manitoba: Southfield School No. 1044 (RM of Victoria)

The Southfield School District was organized formally in January 1900 and a school building operated at NW25-9-12W in the Rural Municipality of Victoria. It was destroyed by fire in December 1917 and was rebuilt at SE25-9-12W on a design by Winnipeg architect E. D. Tuttle. It closed in 1962 and its remaining students went to Spruce Hills Consolidated School No. 2413. The building was moved to the farm of Charlie McGregor at SE35-9-12W.

Among the teachers of Southfield School were Fannie J. Lindsay (1900-1901), Rupert Neelands (1902), Wilkelmina Mullen (1906), Clara Langsette (1908), G. A. Riseberry (1908), J. W. Sheard (19098), Miss A. Kelly (1909), Mary A. Rose (1910), Edith Lindsay (1911), Bessie G. Johnstone (1912), Mary Jones (1913), Helen Haverson (1914), Georgina McKinstry (1914), Louise Taylor (1915), Miss K. K. Tooth (1915), Marion Reid (1916), Marjorie Swalwell (1917), Edith Fair (1917), Mrs. Rose Barnhart (1918), Sarah Baillie (1919), Vivian White (1920), Miss North (1921), Elaine Leamen (1922-1923), Gertrude Bird (1924-1927), Florence Menzies (1927), Ellen Grace Fulcher (1929), M. Fingerote (1930), Margaret F. Donald (1931-1934), Jean H. Chapman (1934-1937), Henrietta Mildred Viola Mair (1937-1940), Elsie Lucinda Fyffe (1941-1942), M. M. Schick (1942-1943), Edith C. Thompson (1944-1945), Helen E. Hunter (1945-1946), Garth Vincent (1946-1947), G. Helen Dawby (1947-1948), Doreen E. Dickson (1948-1949), Audrey Cheetham (1949-1950), Betty Graham (1950-1951), Kay Creasy (1951-1952), Mr. Sawatsky (1952-1953), Rose Simoens (1953-1954), Shirley Jean Cheetham (1954-1955), Mrs. Gertrude Harriet McGregor (1955-1958), Mrs. Celine Lebeau (1958), George Chambers (1959), and L. R. Collier (1961-1962).

The school is commemorated by a monument erected in July 2008.

Southfield School

Southfield School (no date) by G. H. Robertson
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-2, page 46.

Southfield School commemorative monument

Southfield School commemorative monument (March 2013)
Source: Ken Storie

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.76875, W98.96846
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Spruce Hills Consolidated School No. 2413 (RM of Victoria)


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

R.M. of Victoria: Past & Present, Volume 1 by RM of Victoria History Book Committee, 2002, page 202.

This page was prepared by Ken Storie and Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 9 April 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!