Historic Sites of Manitoba: Richmond Hill School No. 363 (Municipality of Lorne)

The Richmond Hill School District was established in January 1885 and a one-room schoolhouse operated at NE34-6-12W in the Rural Municipality of Lorne. It closed in 1959 and its students went to Holland Consolidated School No. 390, Ste. Marie School No. 963, or Cypress River Consolidated School No. 2357. A plaque at the former site of the school was dedicated in 1985.

The teachers of Richmond Hill School were Mrs. Edith Carwell (1885-1890), T. H. Lougheed (1890-1891), F. H. Breen (1891), Miss Pratt (1892), Harry Grills (1892-1893), Miss Crawford (1893-1894), Frank Manning (1894-1897), Miss A. Cuthbert (1897), Miss Ethel Thomas, Miss Stevenson, Miss Marrit, Miss Maud Houston (1907), Olive Arbuthorst (1907), Emma Thomas (1907-1910), Margaret Crake (1910), Daisy Stevenson (1910), Maida Wall (1914-1915), Marion McKinnon (1915-1918), Vida Lloyd (1918-1919), Mardell Chunn (1919-1920), Esther Kemp (1920-1921), Alma Young (1921-1922), Myrtle Johnston (1922-1923), Gladys Dowd (1923-1925), Margaret Ross (1926-1928), Dorothy Gardiner (1928-1929), Bea Kenny (1929-1931), Jean Richmond (1931-1935), Muriel Ebbern (1935-1936), Helen Shier (1936-1937), Earla Nattrass (1937-1941), Leola Heidman (1941-1942), Laura Jones (1942-1943), Margaret Moffat (1943-1944), Lois Wadge (1944-1945), Irene Rosset (1945-1946), Cecile Bellec (1946-1948), Marie Dousselaere (1948-1949), Karen Carroll (1949-1950), Jerry Baltesson (1950-1951, 1952-1953), Emily Szarkawicz (1951-1952), Agnes Heiget (1953-1954), Esther Young (1954-1955), Marie Durand (1955-1957), Doris Atkinson (1957-1958), and Leone Mitchelson (1958-1959).

Richmond Hill School

Richmond Hill School (no date) by G. H. Robertson
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 30.

Richmond Hill School

Richmond Hill School commemorative monument (2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.53216, W99.00058
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Cypress River Pioneers Monument (RM of Victoria)


“The Indian famine fund,” Winnipeg Tribune, 4 March 1897, page 4.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Pioneers, Perseverance & Progress: Cypress River, 1885-1985 by the Cypress River History Book Committee, circa 1986. [Manitoba Legislative Library, F5648.C96 Pio]

We thank David Clark, Jerry Baltesson, and John Moore for providing information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 31 January 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!