Historic Sites of Manitoba: Primrose School No. 457 (Municipality of Boissevain-Morton)

The Primrose School District was organized formally in June 1885 and a one-room schoolhouse operated at the northwest corner of NW18-4-20W in what is now the Municipality of Boissevain-Morton. The building was replaced with a new, modern structure in 1955. The school closed in June 1968 and the district was dissolved later that year. Its catchment area became part of the Turtle Mountain School Division.

Among the teachers of Primrose School were Isaac B. Logan (1887), P. R. Hamlen (1888), Isabella F. Croston (1888-1889), Kate Calder (1890-1892), M. E. Graham (1892), John T. Haig (1896), Alice Thompson (1898), Tephie Taylor (1899), Emma Clarke (1900), Bernice Loyst (1906), Annie Morrow (1907), Ruby Stock (1908), Miss Hall (1909), Miss Kate Walkinshaw (1910), Miss C. F. York (1910-1911), Miss McBeth (1912), Miss Bain (1912-1913), Martha J. Taylor (1913-1914), Miss Catherine Moore (1914-1916), G. Murray Anderson (1916-1918, 1921-1922), Mary Dickson (1918-1919), Violet Jacques (1919-1920), Dorothy E. Horton (1920), Gertrude E. Harris (1921), Mildred Loree (1921-1922), Agnes Tullock Lee (1921-1922), J. B. Cram (1922-1923), Velma Mackie (1923-1924), A. S. Bowman (1924-1925), Doris Chandler (1925-1930), Dorothy A. Kelly (1930-1931), Alice Graham (1931-1932), Lillian Johnson (1932-1937), E. Kathleen Stevenson (1937-1938), Madeline Demasson (1938-1940), Mary Helen Turnbull (1940-1942), Nora M. McKinney (1942-1943), Ellen Hunter (1943-1946), Mrs. K. M. Duncan (1946-1947), Donalda J. Kee (1947-1948), Fred Cole (1948), Peter Stobbe (1948-1949), C. Tom Holden (1949-1950), Emily Holditch (1950), L. Mary Yule (1951-1953), Anna M. Galbraith (1953-1954), Laura A. Younge (1954-1955), Irma E. Shorey (1955-1956), Mrs. Betty B. Gerdis (1956-1961), Mrs. Jean Howell (1961-1963), Maria M. Roeges (1963-1965), and Mrs. Neta Mains (1965-1968).

The original Primrose School building

The original Primrose School building (no date) by W. J. Parr
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 62.

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.30975, W100.17178
denoted by symbol on the map above


School District Formation Files [Primrose School District No. 457], GR1688, E0027, Archives of Manitoba.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Beckoning Hills Revisited: Ours is a Goodly Heritage, Morton-Boissevain, 1881-1981 by Boissevain History Committee, c1981, pages 169-173.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 18 May 2023

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!