Manitoba Heritage Summit 2022

MHS Smarty Party: 20 October 2022

Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 143 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Perth School No. 575 (Municipality of Rossburn)

The Perth School District was established in April 1889 and a one-room schoolhouse operated at SE7-19-24W in the Rural Municipality of Rossburn. The school closed in 1958 and its area became part of the Rossburn Consolidated School District.

The teachers of Perth School were Maude Sharman (1889-1891), E. Tully (1891-1893), Warren Lang (1893-1894), Miss McLaren (1894-1895), Saida Wilson (1895-1898), A. R. Mitchell (1898-1902), Miss Clyde (1903-1904), Miss Mersereau (1905-1907), Doris St. Ruth (1908), Miss Margaret Ann Simpson (1909), Miss Kirkland (1909-1912), Jean Houston (1912-1913), Miss Clement (1913-1914), A. M. Hainstock (1914-1915), Miss Batty (1915), Miss Parker (1916), Maude Lowes (1916-1917), Christina Cormack (1917-1918), Minnie Sinclair (1918-1919), Nellie Young (1919), Hazel Irwin (1919), Cassie McKee (1920-1921), M. Stiles (1922), Miss Moffat (1922), Beryl Young (1923), Annie Peden (1924), Murial Smith (1925), Cora Ham (1925), Marion McPhail (1926), Olive Hamilton (1926-1927), Jessie Kelso (1927), Ruth Crowe (1928-1930), Bertha Meyers (1930-1935), Marion McPhail (1935-1936), Cassie McKee, Jessie Cormack, Lenore Rowe, Verna McIntyre (1942-1944), Mary Martin, Miss Simpson, Ruth Miller, Steve Waytowich (1945-1946), Tom Speers (1946-1947), Anne Klym (1947-1948), Grace Hogg (1948-1949), Jean Zemliak (1949-1950), and Gayleen Scott (1950-1951).

Perth School

Perth School (no date) by J. B. Morrison
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 90.

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N50.61638, W100.78795
denoted by symbol on the map above


“The Indian famine fund,” Winnipeg Tribune, 4 March 1897, page 4.

Rossburn West topographic map, 62K/10 West, Edition 1 ASE, Series A743 [Archives of Manitoba].

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

On the Sunny Slopes of the Riding Mountains, A History of Rossburn and District, Volume 1 by Rossburn History Club, 1984. [Manitoba Legislative Library, F5648.R78 Ont]

We thank Malcolm Bell for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 1 April 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2022 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.