Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 140 years


Pay & Donate in the MHS Online Shop

Endangered Top 10
Top 10

Manitoba History No. 89

No. 89

Summer Field Trip 2019
Field Trip

Fall Field Trip 2019
Field Trip

War Memorials in Manitoba
in Manitoba

This Old Elevator
This Old

Abandoned Manitoba

Memorable Manitobans

Historic Sites of Manitoba
Historic Sites
of Manitoba

Historic Sites of Manitoba: North Ward School (535 Third Street NW, Portage la Prairie)

Link to:
Principals | Vice-Principals | Teachers | Photos & Coordinates | Sources

This two-storey brick building on the north side of Portage la Prairie was designed by architect C. H. Mousney and constructed in 1910. Its four classrooms opened for use in January 1911 and electric lights were installed in 1917, but water and sewer service did not arrive until 1941. The school roof was badly damaged during a tornado that hit the city on 22 June 1922 but it was repaired in time for classes to resume in September.

By the late 1960s, the school was said to be “structurally and academically obsolete.” It had no gymnasium, library, or music room, and no staff room or office. Every available space was being used for classrooms, including two in the basement separated by the furnace room. There were only single washrooms on each floor, so boys and girls had to use them in shifts. Rather than commit the resources to upgrade the building, the School Board chose to close it in June 1972 and the students were sent to the newer La Verendrye School nearby. Six years later, the building was renovated as offices for the Portage la Prairie School Division.

It is the only known example of an urban ward school remaining in Manitoba.





Margaret McCarthy Costigan


Frances Ormand


Olive Florence Francis Webster


Miss Paul


Annie Timmins Barber (1881-1972)


Ina Margaret Pearson Fraser (1907-1940)


Miss E. Galbraith


Kalista May “Kay” Robb (1902-1982)


Morris Boychuk


The teachers of the North Ward School included: Mildred Trimble Rutledge (1911-1913), Mrs. Edward-Jones (1911), Pearl Webster, Myrtle McCarthy, Stella McCuaig Denyer (1920), Miss Kestler (1919-1920), Kathleen Manson, Ruth McMillan (1920), Mona Oulton (1921-1922), Jessie Roe Smith (1921), Kathleen Garland (1924-1925), Miss Horton (1924-1925), Grace Tucker (1924-1928), Edith Ogletree McKillop (1925-1926), Ruth Francis (1927-1928), Miss McKay (1928), Ina Pearson (1929-1934), Bernice Nixon (1929-1934), Miss Abbott (1929-1934), Miss Hickling (1934), Miss E. Galbraith (1935-1940), Kay Robb (1935-1941), Elsie Barton (1937-1938), Lal Langford (1938-1942), Nel Tate Owens, Helen Piloski (1941-1972), Dorothy Leonhardt (1942-1943), Gertrude Milne (1943-1944), Chris McLean Troughton (1944-1945), Miss Sammeter (1945), Helen Sklipowich (1946-1947), Bentina Erlendson Ronald Boulter (1947-1948, 1955-1960), Catherine McDougall (1948), Miss Devereau (1948), Anne Poyser Pallister (1949-1951), Mrs. Leonard Clark (1949-1950), Miss Rubinek (1950), Mrs. Harold Simpson (1951-1952), Mae I. Leslie (1952-1954), Evelyn M. Hopkins (1951-1952), Beth Sladek (1953-1955), Mrs. Pirot (1954-1955), Ann Shykitka (1954-1957), Martha Holovach (1954-1955), Miss E. Courice (1954-1955), Mrs. Ella Cook (1955-1964), Lillian Beddome (1955-1956), Miss M. A. R. McCall (1956-1957), Mrs. A. L. Lamont (1956-1957), Jean Yaremkevich (1959-1964), Alice Boychuk (1960-1961), Denise Wagner Chiponski (1960-1962), Mrs. Skinner (1960-1961), John Dueck (1961-1962), Ralph Barry (1961-1962), Cornelius Furdievich (1961-1962), Miss S. Hodgkinson (1964-1965), Mrs. Bergen (1964-1965), Mrs. E. Moggey (1964-1965), Mrs. P. McRae (1964-1965), Edith Lamont (1965-1970), Velma McDonald (1965-1966), Marion McCosky Makarchuk (1965-1967), Peggy Curwen (1965-1968), Delores Wooley (1966-1968), Martha Meikle (1966-1967), Margaret Giesbrecht (1967-1969), Rose Browning (1967-1968), Iris Parrack (1968-1972), Miss Lois Vust (1968-1972), Brenda Meikle (1968-1969), Mrs. R. Browning (1968-1969), Sheila Purvis (1969-1972), Dorothy Crealock (1969-1970), and Lee Lutz (1970-1972).

Photos & Maps

North Ward School

North Ward School (no date)
Source: PCI Archive, Vopni Press Collection, 0262a.

The former North Ward School building

The former North Ward School building (September 2012)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Location (lat/long): N49.98183, W98.29415
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: West Ward School (Portage la Prairie)

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Victoria School (32 Fifth Street SE, Portage la Prairie)

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Central School / Portage Normal School (Portage la Prairie)


Death registration [Annie Timmins Barber], British Columbia Vital Statistics.

“Portage lists teaching staff as school opens,” Winnipeg Free Press, 5 September 1951, page 34.

Obituary [Anne Ethel Poyser Pallister], Winnipeg Free Press, 6 July 2011.

History of North Ward School, July 1894 to June 1972 by Mrs. Georgie Simmons, circa 1972. [Copy at Portage la Prairie School Division Office, December 2013.]

A Study of Public School Buildings in Manitoba by David Butterfield, Historic Resources Branch, Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism, 1994, 230 pages.

We thank Michael Mauws, Hazen Barrett, Morris Boychuk, and Nathan Kramer for providing information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 27 November 2018

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Search Tips | Suggest a Site | FAQ | Acknowledgements

Send inquiries to the MHS Webmaster.

Back to top of page


To report an error on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations Policy

© 1998-2019 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.