Historic Sites of Manitoba: Mount Prospect School No. 249 (Municipality of Cartwright-Roblin)

The Mount Prospect School District was established in April 1884, in what is now the Municipality of Cartwright-Roblin and a one-room frame school building was erected on the southwest quarter of 2-2-13 west of the Principal Meridian. It operated continously except for periods around 1913-1914 and 1943-1944 when low enrollment caused its closure. With consolidation in the 1960s, the school closed permanently in July 1967 and its remaining students went to Mather School No. 1345. The building, a municipally designated historic site (1992), was moved to the Cartwright Heritage Park in 1974.

The teachers of Mount Prospect School after 1893 included Julia Grace Hart (1893), A. Howard (1894-1895), Rachel A. Taylor (1896), John Bale (1897-1898), Ina Duncan (1898-1902), Nellie Acheson (1900-1901), W. J. D. Fulford (1902-1903, 1905), Florence Fulford (1904), Minnie McLeod (1905), Helena Perfect (1905-1906), Alice Ethel Pogson (1907), Tena Coulthard (1908), Florence L. Potter (1909), F. C. Inglis (1910), Nellie McKellar (1910-1912), Clara Hill (1914, 1916-1917), H. Manning (1915), D. H. Richardson (1916-1917), Myrtle Argue (1916-1918), Frances Collins (1917-1919), Elinor Gilbert (1918-1920), Annie Bell (1919-1920), Ethel McLean (1919-1925), Mary Cocks (1925-1927), B. Gilchrist (1926-1927), Margaret MacKay (1926-1928, 1930-1931), Elsie Skelton (1928-1929), Agnes Church (1929-1930), Donalda Fulford (1931-1935), Edna Belle McLaren (1935-1937), Kathleen Coulthard (1937-1939), Isabel Brownell (1939-1940), Doris Crookshanks (1940-1941), Christine McKay (1941-1942), Ada Tait (1942-1943, 1944-1945), Vivian McLeod (1944-1946), Mrs. Penman (1946-1947), Audrey Mayo (1947-1948), Eileen Connery (1948-1949), Ruth Elliot (1949-1950), Mildred Kester (1950-1952), Marlene Bridges (1952-1953), Christina Moffat (1953-1954), Hazel Mayo (1955-1961), Hilda Fulford (1961-1963), Judith Zacharias (1963-1964), and Pat Porter (1964-1967).

Mount Prospect School

Mount Prospect School (no date) by W. J. Parr
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 2.

The former Mount Pleasant School building at the Cartwright Heritage Park

The former Mount Pleasant School building at the Cartwright Heritage Park (July 2012)
Source: Ed Arndt

Mount Prospect School commemorative monument

Mount Prospect School commemorative monument (July 2010)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.08930, W99.12206
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Cartwright Heritage Park (Cartwright, Municipality of Cartwright-Roblin)

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Municipally Designated Historic Sites


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Crocus Country: A History of Mather & Surrounding Districts by Mather History Committee, 1981.

We thank Vicki Wallace and Ed Arndt for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 18 March 2023

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!