Historic Sites of Manitoba: Mather School No. 1345 (Mather, Municipality of Cartwright-Roblin)

Link to:
Principals | Vice-Principals | Teachers | Photos & Coordinates | Sources

The Mather School District was established formally in July 1905 and it operated a school in Mather in what is now the Municipality of Cartwright-Roblin. The original two-storey brick and stone building was destroyed by fire on 3 March 1918 and it was replaced by the present one-storey, two-classroom structure later that year. In 1954, a third classroom was constructed on its north side. A fourth classroom was created in the basement in 1968, and all four rooms were used until 1977 when two of them were closed due to declining student enrollment. The school closed in June 1985 and the building was renovated into a private residence.





Jessie A. Mackintosh


John H. Krieger


Thomas “Tom” Tesarski (1924-2018)


Peter Stobbe


P. Mikolayenko


Among the other teachers of Mather School were Mable Daly (1905), Miss Widden (1906), W. J. D. Fulford (1907), Jonathan Nunn (1908), Tena Coulthard (1909-1912), Albert G. Fulford (1910-1911), Cathrine Smith (1912), Daisy Cuthbert (1913-1914), Mr. M. F. Pringle (1913-1914), Mary McLean (1915-1916), Mrs. Dodge (1915), Crete Munsen (1915), Jacob Arbuckle (1916), Helena Robertson (1917-1919), Ethel McLean (1917), Ruth Ames (1918), Ruth Scarfe (1919), K. I. Taylor (1920-1922), Mrs. Earl Agar (1920), Mrs. Savage (1921), Miss Campbell (1922), Dorothy Strachan (1923), Miss Shefield (1923), Florence Wilson (1924), Inez Overend (1924), May Meyers (1924), Tena Harrison (1924), Eli Jenkins (1925), Miss Long (1925), Jessie Ames (1925-1929), J. A. Wilson (1926), John Peter Sigvaldason (1927-1929), Evelyn Campbell (1930-1932), George Belton (1930-1931), Cecil H. Barkley (1932-1938), Eunice Argue (1939), John Sinclair “Clair” Nelin (1939), Evelyn Church (1940-1942), Vivian Sampson (1940-1941), Doreen Davidson (1942-1944), Jessie Mackintosh (1943-1950), Miss Porter (1945-1947), Doreen Matheson (1948-1949), Agnes Drummond (1950), John Krieger (1951), Elaine Haight (1952-1953), Joan Clements (1954-1955), Norma Sutherland (1954-1955), Laura Medland (1956-1957), Tena Moffat (1956-1957), Margaret Hart (1959-1961), Marion Shepherd (1959-1963), Louise Fast (1959-1963), Margaret Vincent (1962-1963), Hazel Rothenburger (1966-1968), Vera Stewart (1966-1967), Dorothy Schram (1966-1973), June Henderson (1968-1969), David Miller (1968-1969), Josefina Santiago (1969-1971), Afke Hoogland (1970-1972), Miss Dueck (1970), Karen Dick (1970-1971), Linda Campbell (1972-1973), Sharon Robins (1972), June Armstrong (1973-1976), Albert Bashutski (1973), Elizabeth Barnes (1974), Stuart Phillips (1974-1980), Linda Cohoe (1977), and Karen Moore (1978-1980).

Photos & Coordinates

Postcard of the original Mather School building

Postcard of the original Mather School building (1908) by Winnipeg Photo Company
Source: Rob McInnes, MN0292

Mather School

Mather School (1920s) by W. J. Parr
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-2, page 102.

The former Mather School building

The former Mather School building (circa 1986)
Source: Historic Resources Branch, Public School Buildings Inventory, slide 1125.

The former Mather School building, now a private residence

The former Mather School building, now a private residence (September 2012)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.09487, W99.19025
denoted by symbol on the map above


Annual Reports of the Manitoba Department of Education, Manitoba Legislative Library.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Crocus Country: A History of Mather & Surrounding Districts by Mather History Committee, 1981.

A Study of Public School Buildings in Manitoba by David Butterfield, Historic Resources Branch, Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism, 1994, 230 pages.

We thank Scott Melvin and Nathan Kramer for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 27 March 2024

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!