Historic Sites of Manitoba: Medina School No. 402 (RM of Oakview)

The Medina School District was established formally in May 1885, apparently taking its name from the village of Medina, Ontario. A school building was erected by carpenter George B. Kelly on land provided by farmer John Henry, at NE22-13-21W in what is now the Rural Municipality of Oakview. The school closed in October 1919 but reopened in February 1921 in a new wood frame building, operating until June 1958 when the school closed and its students went to Oak River Consolidated School No. 253 or Rivers Consolidated School No. 1484. The district was dissolved in January 1960 and the building and its contents were sold at auction. A monument was erected at the site, made from a steel beam that once supported the main floor of the school.

The teachers who worked at Medina School included Edith Crooks (1886), Florence Shafer (1886), Emma Burt (1887), Sam B. McCready (1888-1889), William L. Masales (1889-1890), Caroline Short (1890), Robert Gill (1891), Robert Pender Shanks (1892-1898), G. H. Blackwell (1893), M. Oliver (1899), Helen Bate (1900-1901), Wesley Hodgins (1901), Maude Howden (1902), John Wesley Peters (1903), Ed Brice (1904), Miss A. Graham (1905), Nora Hawkins (1906-1907), Clara Rook (1907), John Mackie (1908), Theresa Cochlan (1909), Bessie Knowlton (1910), Mabel Hannah (1910-1911), M. I. Fisher (1911), Kathleen Coutts (1912), Howard Lawrence (1913), Florence Matheson (1914-1915), Margaret McLeod Cook (1915-1916), Etta Riter (1916-1917), Gertrude Sargent (1917-1918), Nellie Barr (1918-1919), Margaret Sample (1918-1919), Mary Radcliffe (1919), Jennie Houck Sheardown (1920-1922), Charles Currie (1922-1924), Mabel Tait Ready (1924-1925), Nancy Gentry Ranson (1925-1927), Verna Coad (1928), Helen Bjarnason (1928-1929), Eldred Miller (1929-1931), Annie Henderson Pettapiece (1931-1934), Florence Harvey Pettapiece (1934-1937), Olive Glinz (1937), Alvin Samuel Miller (1937-1940), Anne Berkhold (1940-1942), Ina Smith Slimmon (1942-1943), Mrs. Muriel Short Westwood (1943-1944), Gwen Simms Milliken (1944-1945), Isabel Macdonald (1945), Constance Carter Alexander (1945), Olive “Molly” Cormack McLellan (1946-1947), Hilda Strickland Comrie (1947-1948), Florence Goodeve (1948-1949), Helen Bilinsky McSayden (1949-1950), Florence Huband Madden (1950-1952), Robert Walton (1952-1955), Vincent Laughlin (1955-1956), Mrs. Donna Shorrock (1956-1957), Marie Yakamishyn Edwards (1957-1958), and Mrs. Doreen Smith (1958).

Medina Schools, old and new

Medina Schools, old and new (1920s) by W. C. Hartley
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 42.

The second Medina School, built in 1921

The second Medina School, built in 1921 (circa 1922)
Source: Education Department Report, 1922, Manitoba Legislative Library.

Medina School commemorative monument

Medina School commemorative monument (September 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N50.12277, W100.26022
denoted by symbol on the map above


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

We Remember Medina S.D. No. 402, 1885-1921-1958 by The Book Committee, circa 1980.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 29 December 2019

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!