Historic Sites of Manitoba: Leifur School No. 1561 (RM of Alonsa)

The Leifur School District was established formally in January 1911 and a one-room schoolhouse operated at SE27-20-10W in what is now the Rural Municipality of Alonsa. It became part of the Amaranth School District in 1938 and the Turtle River School Division in 1959. The school closed in June 1966. As of 2018, the building stood at its original site, renovated into a private residence.

Among the teachers of Leifur School were Myrtle Wellwood (1913), Faye Coolidge (1914-1915), Malka Hausfeld (1916), Nora Bell (1916), Frederick J. Grover (1917), Dora A. Wile (1917), Howard Eliasson (1918), Stanley Lloyd (1919), Margaret McGregor (1920), Percy B. Sexsmith (1920), Harold Eliasson (1921), Mariette B. Fyles (1921-1922), Lloyd C. Stinson (1922), J. A. Bell (1923), Marietta Rogers (1924), Wilhelmina Martin (1924-1926), E. M. Eldred (1926), Jennie Tkaychyk (1927), Francis M. Pizzey (1928), Frances M. Loptson (1929-1930), Evelyn White (1930), Mary Martin (1931-1933), Nora A. Mooney (1935-1936), Carmen Smallman (1936-1938), Bessie Carson (1938), Eldera Sissons (1939-1941), Emily Rawlings (1941), Esther Kettner (1942), Ethel M. Anderson (1943-1950), Betty Forth (1950), Doreen Dickson (1951), Pat Dickson (1952), Shirley Fitzsimmons (1953), Shirley (1954), Betty Wicks (1955), Shirley Young (1956), Marjorie McFarlane (1957), Carol Jean Fletcher (1958), Lillian Thompson (1959-1960), Paul Gluck (1961), Marie Hlagie (1962-1963), S. W. Stephens (1964), and Marie Lambourne (1965).

Leifur School

Leifur School (no date) by C. K. Rogers
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-2, page 140.

The former Leifur School building

The former Leifur School building (November 2018)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Location (lat/long): 50.74267, W98.76461
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Amaranth War Memorial, Schools, and Churches (Amaranth, RM of Alonsa)


Amaranth West topographic map, 62J/10 West, Edition 1, Series A743 [UFS Reference Collection].

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Many Trails to Manitou - Wapah by Village History Committee, Alonsa, 1993, pages 281-282.

We thank Darryl Toews for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 13 May 2020

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!