Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Justice Consolidated School No. 696 (Justice, RM of Elton)

Link to:
Principals | Vice-Principals | Teachers | Photos & Coordinates | Sources

The Justice Consolidated School District, centred in the village of Justice in the Rural Municipality of Elton, became one of the first participants in the consolidation movement of the early 20th century. It brought students from several surrounding rural schools, including Aikenside School No. 157, Nelles School No. 696, and Young School No. 352, to a new building (erected in 1912 on a design by Winnipeg architect W. W. Blair) to one central location. Through the years, as other rural schools closed, it drew students from Campbell School No. 186, Elton School No. 131, Gourlay School No. 695, Matheson School No. 1062, and Orange Hall School No. 1069. Justice School closed in June 1967 and its area became part of the Elton Municipal School District No. 2360.





Henrietta Beveridge Herkes (1899-?)


Mary Marguerite Rodger “Marge” Andrews (1901-1955)


Weston Sweet (1899-1994)


Myrtle Christina Evans Witherspoon (1906-1998)


Willa Griggs


Margaret E. Wheaton


Marie Evans


Helen McLennan


James Edwin Scarrow (1902-1982)


Monica Anderson


Charlotte Finlay


John Archibald “Archie” Carmichael (1916-2001)


Erick Bjarnson


Hugh Arthur Johnson (1910-1967)


Doreen Handel


Ann Belcher


Jonathan Hughes Arnett (1879-1953)


Robert B. Connor


Dorothy E. Frost


Marion Terry


Alex Robson


Mrs. Dorothy Cox


Margaret Amelia Creighton (1911-1979)


Stanley A. Livingston


Allan H. Badgley


Margaret Amelia Creighton (1911-1979)


Among the other teachers of Justice School were Agnes Davidson (1913), Evelyn Pentland (1913-1914), Annie Andrews (1913-1915), Nellie Holden (1914-1916), B. McNevin (1915-1916), J. Duilan (1916-1917), Annie Falconer (1916-1919), Alice Bisset (1917-1918), Gladys Christie (1918-1919), Jean Brown (1919-1920), Gladys Pearson (1919-1920), W. I. Stewart (1919-1921), D. McDonald (1919-1920), Mildred Thornton (1920-1923), Olive Falconer (1921-1922), W. Logan (1922-1923), Marjory Davis (1922-1923), R. Slauson (1922-1923), A. Emerson (1923-1924), Margaret Elliott (1923-1925, 1926-1927), Marjorie Hogarth (1925-1926), Dianne Lucow (1927-1928), Ruby Magee (1928-1929), Kay Kellar (1929-1930), Helen McLennan (1930-1933), Doris Moore (1933-1934), Margaret Sutherland (1934-1935), Ruby Black (1934-1935), Edna Elder (1935-1937), Helen Brownell (1937-1940), Verna Hughes (1940-1941), Gwen Waring (1941-1942), Jean Justice (1942-1943), Phyllis Hill (1943-1945), Merle Westbrook (1945-1946), Donna Douglas (1946-1948), Eileen Wray (1948-1949), Muriel Hunter (1949-1951), Sam Sigardson (1951-1952), Florence Chambers (1951-1953), Dorothy Cox (1959-1960), Elaine Kolke (1953-1956), Hazel Adams (1956-1957), Janie Crossen (1957-1958), Marion Badgley (1958-1959), Elaine Bollman (1958-1961), A. W. Parils (1960-1961), Adelaide Feil (1961-1963), Jean Witter (1962-1967), Lorna Richardson (1963-1964), Glenda Holmes (1964-1965), and Carol Armstrong (1965-1967).

Photos & Coordinates

The original Justice School

The original Justice School (circa 1911)
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspector Photos GR2664, C65.

Justice School

Justice School (no date) by A. J. Hatcher
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 110.

A homecoming celebration was held when the school closed

A homecoming celebration was held when the school closed (July 1967)
Source: Homesteaders and Homemakers: A History of Elton Municipality in its First Century by Elton Historical Committee, 1973. [Manitoba Legislative Library, F5648.E48 Hom]

The former Justice School building

The former Justice School building (June 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

The former Justice School building and bell

The former Justice School building and bell (June 2020)
Source: Rose Kuzina

The former Justice School building

The former Justice School building (June 2020)
Source: Rose Kuzina

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.99748, W99.79699
denoted by symbol on the map above


Tenders, Manitoba Free Press, 5 August 1911, page 3.

Annual Reports of the Manitoba Department of Education, Manitoba Legislative Library.

Homesteaders and Homemakers: A History of Elton Municipality in its First Century by Elton Historical Committee, 1973. [Manitoba Legislative Library, F5648.E48 Hom]

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

A Study of Public School Buildings in Manitoba by David Butterfield, Historic Resources Branch, Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism, 1994, 230 pages.

Biographical Dictionary of Architects in Canada, 1800-1950 by Robert G. Hill, Toronto.

We thank Nathan Kramer and Rose Kuzina for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 18 March 2023

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.