Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Graham School No. 398 (Municipality of Cartwright-Roblin)

Graham School was established formally in May 1885, named for local farmer A. A. Graham on whose land a one-room, wood frame schoolhouse was built at NE16-1-13W in what is now the Municipality of Cartwright-Roblin. This first structure was drafty and impossible to heat in cold weather. Eventually it was condemned and some of the students went to Sinkerville School until a replacement was built, in 1909, at NW8-1-13W. It opened for classes in October 1909.

It closed in 1961 and its remaining students went to Mather School No. 1345. The district was dissolved in 1967. The school building was moved to Pilot Mound but a monument, dedicated in 1988, commemorates it at the original site.

The teachers of Graham School were Florence Fulford (1903), Lulu Wishart (1903), May Fawcett (1903), Arthur E. Bell (1903), Annie Dohaney (1909), Agnes Blackburn (1910), Jessie Munsie (1910), Jessie McIntyre (1910-1911), Jesse McRae (1911-1912), Beulah Dool (1912-1913), Olive Craig (1913-1914), Archena Conner (1914), Marjorie Holditch (1914-1915), Agnes Graham (1915-1916), Jessie Waldie (1916-1918), Della Bale (1918), Hilda Evitt (1918-1919), Miss Lawmand (1919), Miss Foster (1920), Eva Fedronka (1920), Elsie Kerr (1920-1922), Louise Hudson (1922-1924), Gwen Carson (1924-1925), Miss Thordarson (1924-1925), Miss Alderson (1924-1925), Dorothy Quintaine (1926-1927), Beatrice Frith (1927-1928), Kathleen Shaw (1928-1929), Ruby Fulford (1930-1931), Lloyd Henwood (1931-1940), Dorothy Cantlon (1940-1941), Muriel Strachan (1941-1942), Betty Holditch (1942-1943), Moira Drysdale (1943-1944), Connie Franzman (1944-1945), Bernice Davis (1945-1946), Mrs. Towns (1946-1947), Ruth Elliott (1947-1949), Miss D. V. Cooper (1949-1950), Lois Sorensen (1950-1951), Lois Moffat (1951-1952), Helen Duerksen (1952-1953), David Tiessen (1953-1957), Helen Peters (1957-1959), Margaret Peters (1959-1960), and Herb Warkentin (1960-1961).

Graham School

Graham School (no date) by W. J. Parr
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 40.

Graham School commemorative sign and monument

Graham School commemorative sign and monument (October 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.02926, W99.17690
denoted by symbol on the map above


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Crocus Country: A History of Mather & Surrounding Districts by Mather History Committee, 1981.

We thank Don and Elaine McLennan for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 11 February 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.