Historic Sites of Manitoba: Saunders School / Glenn School No. 1932 (RM of Reynolds)

The map location shown for this Historic Site of Manitoba is APPROXIMATE.
If you know its exact location, please contact us at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Known originally as the Saunders School District when it was organized formally in June 1918, the name was changed to Glenn sometime before 1944. In 1928, local men constructed a one-room schoolhouse using locally cut logs at SW6-8-15E in what would later be the Rural Municipality of Reynolds. Destroyed by fire in 1950, a railway coach was used as a temporary replacement until a second schoolhouse could be constructed. The school closed in June 1968 and the district was dissolved later that year. Its catchment area became part of the Agassiz School Division. The second school building was also destroyed by fire.

The teachers of Glenn School were Vera Ellen Horn (1928-1929), Nellie Irene Roth (1929-1930), H. Angus McDonald (1930-1932), Anne M. Harris (1933-1935), Kathleen Violet Heindle (1935-1938), Pauline Iris Palsson (1938-1939), Marion M. Winston (1939-1940), Olive M. Andrews (1940-1941), Nellie Mostaway (1941-1942), Jeannette Dufresne (1942-1943), Geraldine McMunn (1943-1944), Alfreda M. Huppe (1944-1945), Benny Z. Orlins (1945-1946), Ida Pearl McMunn (1946-1947), Helen Ostry (1947-1948), Shirley Wechreschuk Biedler (1948-1949), Margaret McMunn (1949-1951), Henry B. Unrau (1951-1952), John P. Beda (1952-1953), George Bernard Schmidt (1953-1954), Shirley Senchuk (1954-1956), Joseph Bernard Cooper (1956-1957), Eva Fast (1957-1958), Harry Unger (1958-1959), Peter Cesmystruk (1959-1960), John Chobotar (1960-1961), Helen Kissick (1961-1962), George Henderson (1962-1966), Mrs. William Ellis (1966-1967), and Lorna Feilberg (1967-1968).

The original Glenn School building

The original Glenn School building (no date) by J. H. Plewes
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-3, page 62.

Railway coach used after Glenn School was destroyed by fire

Railway coach used after Glenn School was destroyed by fire (circa 1951)
Source: Henry B. Unrau

The second Glenn School building

The second Glenn School building (1951)
Source: Henry B. Unrau

Students at Glenn School

Students at Glenn School (1951)
Rear (L-R): Stanley Thickens, Joyce Reynolds, Kathleen R Davis, Rosemarie Apolony, Mary Huss, Ernest Nanicovich (hidden), Francis Apolony. Front (L-R): Ronnie Reynolds, Doris Huss, Eleanor Thickens, Henry Reynolds, Rudy Apolony
Source: Henry B. Unrau

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.62883, W95.54042
denoted by symbol on the map above


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

McMunn, East Braintree, Glenn: Pioneer History, 1913-1989, pages 148-158.

We thank Nathan Kramer and Henry B. Unrau for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 11 November 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!