Historic Sites of Manitoba: Flower School No. 1843 (Municipality of Harrison Park)

The Flower School District was established in October 1916 and a one-room schoolhouse operated at SE25-19-22W in what is now the Municipality of Harrison Park. In 1960, the district was dissolved and its catchment area was added to the Elphinstone Consolidated School District. It later became part of the Pelly Trail School Division. The schoolhouse burned down in 1962 and the school yard was turned into a livestock pasture. The teacherage was sold and moved two miles east of Elphinstone.

Among the teachers of Flower School were Cornelius Green (1919), Walter Balls (1921-1922), Robert M. Smith (1923), Kathleen Wark (1924), E. H. Parsley (1924), J. W. Melosky (1924-1925), J. M. Hawryluk (1925), Carrie E. Lunn (1926), Irene Waluk (1926), D. D. Dutchak (1927), Louise Butler (1928), G. Count (1928-1929), Clayton Bricker (1928-1929), M. P. Lutack (1928-1929), Peter Krepiakewich (1929-1930), Alan Cheales (1930-1931), Mary Nychek (1931-1934), Phyllis Chopp (1934-1936), John Zurbyk (1938-1941), Lena E. Zepa (1941-1943), Lula Squire (1943-1944), Nell Nykoliation (1944-1945), H. H. Galan (1945-1946), Joseph S. Dnistransky (1946-1947), Steffie Maduke (1947-1948), Martin Koroschil (1948-1953), E. Stefanuik (1953-1954), Joseph Kustiak (1954-1957), Wally Yanchyski (1957-1960), and Sara Elizabeth Kinley.

Flower School commemorative monument

Flower School commemorative monument (September 2007)
Source: Ed Arndt

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N50.65403, W100.39307
denoted by symbol on the map above


Elphinstone West topographic map, 62K/9 West, Edition 1, Series A743 [Archives of Manitoba].

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

From the Past to the Present, 1898-1987 by Parkland Ukrainian Pioneer Association, circa 1988. [Legislative Library of Manitoba, Rare Book Collection F5648.P36 Fro]

We thank Ed Arndt and Nathan Kramer for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 1 April 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!