Historic Sites of Manitoba: East Lynne School No. 1180 (Municipality of Boissevain-Morton)

The East Lynne School District was established formally in March 1902 and it operated a school on the northeast corner of 5-4-19W in what is now the Municipality of Boissevain-Morton. In 1950, the original schoolhouse was moved to Boissevain and removated into a private residence. The school district was dissolved in 1967. The former school building was renovated into a private residence at the site.

Among the teachers of East Lynne School were Cecil Johnston (1902-1903), Randolph Cottingham (1904-1905), Miss Mary Nixon (1906), Miss Ullyot (1911-1912), Miss Mildred Latimer (1913-1914), Miss T. B. Duncan (1917), Miss Mary Seale (1920), Miss Isla McLachlan (1926-1929), Miss Ella Rowe (1930-1932), Miss Patricia Herron (1932-1935), Miss Elsie Reid (1935-1937), Mr. K. R. James (1937-1939), Miss Audrey M. Poyser (1939-1940), Miss Olive Scott (1940-1942), Miss Velma Orriss (1942-1943), Miss Dorothy Millikin (1943-1944), Mrs. W. J. Pinuita (1944-1945), Miss Adelmar Thiessen (1945-1946), Miss Geraldine Wear (1946-1947), Miss Ines Scott (1947-1948), Miss Gladys Jessiman (1948-1949), Miss Nora Reimer (1949-1950), Miss Beatrice Venables (1950-1952), Mrs. Don Cochrane (1952-1953), Miss Agatha Dyck (1953-1954), Miss May Jones (1954-1955), Miss Margaret Friesen (1955-1956), Miss Anna Rempel (1956-1959), Mrs. Myrtle Ludgate (1959-1961), Mrs. Judith Broadfoot (1961-1962), Miss Lorette Claeys (1962-1964), and Harvey Sawatzky (1964-1965).

The original East Lynne School building

The original East Lynne School building (no date) by W. J. Parr
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-2, page 72.

The second East Lynne School building

The second East Lynne School building (circa 1986)
Source: Historic Resources Branch, Public School Buildings Inventory, slide 774.

The renovated second East Lynne School building

The renovated second East Lynne School building (September 2012)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.27904, W99.99179
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: West Lynne School No. 27 (Emerson, Municipality of Emerson-Franklin)


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Beckoning Hills Revisited: Ours is a Goodly Heritage, Morton-Boissevain, 1881-1981 by Boissevain History Committee, c1981, page 160.

A Study of Public School Buildings in Manitoba by David Butterfield, Historic Resources Branch, Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism, 1994, 230 pages.

We thank Julie Kentner for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 4 February 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!