MHS Smarty Party: 20 October 2022

Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 143 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Crown School No. 184 (Municipality of Grassland)

The Crown School District was established formally in August 1883 and a one-room school was built at NE24-6-21W, on land belonging to settler Joseph Taylor, in what is now the Municipality of Grassland. It operated until June 1930. The district was dissolved the following month and its catchment area was divided between Lily School District, Bunclody School District, Elgin Consolidated School District, and Fairfax Consolidated School District. Records for the school district are held by the S. J. McKee Archives.

Among the teachers of Crown School were Mary Steele (1887), Miss Lucinda Shewfelt (1892-1893), T. W. Clark (1893-1894), J. M. McGavin (1894), M. L. Kinley (1894), John O. Hettle (1895), George S. Pettypiece (1896), R. C. Pettypiece (1896), Agnes M. Miller (1897, 1899), E. Reekie (1898), Charles C. Cook (1898), E. Alverda Wrye (1900), Madelene L. Hewer (1901), May B. Sharman (1902), Clara Smith (1903), Eva E. M. Thompson (1903-1905), Essie R. Bryans (1906-1907), E. Dycer (1907), Alice O. Brown (1908-1909), Bertha C. Prouty (1910-1911), S. J. McGowan (1912), Isa G. Finlayson (1912), Ada L. Ibbetson (1912-1913), Jennie Mains (1914), A. Florence Sillers (1915-1916), Nettie M. Spratt (1916), Alice Olive Honeyman (1916-1917), C. Code (1918), Ethel Martin (1918), Allan F. Holloway (1919), L. Black (1919), Molly D. Hymovitch (1920), Catherine Rose (1920), Eva Mae Tracey (1921), Helen L. Stirling (1921), Francis H. Donaghy (1922), B. Halliday (1922), Ada J. Jones (1922-1923), Jean I. Ballentyne (1923), Mary E. Down (1923), C. M. Campbell (1923-1924), E. Pearl Reid (1924-1926), Kathleen J. Moreland (1928-1929), Marion G. McRuer (1929-1930), and Dorothy E. Hunter (1930).

Crown School

Crown School (no date) by George Hunter
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 65.

Site Location (lat/long): N49.50263, W100.17287
denoted by symbol on the map above


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Crown School Fonds, Acc. No. 997-31, S. J. McKee Archives, Brandon University.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 4 May 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2022 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.