Historic Sites of Manitoba: Breadalbane School No. 361 (RM of Wallace-Woodworth)

The Breadalbane School District was established formally in January 1885 and a one-room schoolhouse operated on the southeast quarter of 14-11-25W in what is now the Rural Municipality of Wallace-Woodworth. The school was closed between 1950 and 1954 due to low enrollment. The district was dissolved in March 1964 when its catchment area was consolidated with Lenore Consolidated School No. 1758. Over the years, the school hosted 315 students in grades 1 to 9 and 49 teachers. The school building is no longer on the site, but a stone monument unveiled on 22 July 2001 commemorates it.

Among the teachers who worked at Breadalbane School through the years were Arthur Moody, Miss Susie Schultes, Miss Emma Best, Miss Mary Sinclair, Miss Ivie L. Blackwell, Mr. J. H. Wilson, Anna B. Jefferys, James I. Mulvey, James Duxbury, Arthur Avery, Mary Hodgson, Miss Sarah Good, Miss Mabel Barnwell, Miss Maggie Elliott, Miss Blanche McIntyre, Miss Florence Hepburn, Annie Riddel, Jessie Merle McNiven (daughter of John D. McNiven), Miss Eva M. J. Reid, Miss Elizabeth A. Cousins, Miss Drucilla Hepburn, Miss Myrtle McConnell, Miss Merle Titmus, Miss Eleanor Titmus, Miss Josie Howsam, Miss Annie J. Cowing, Miss Blanche Leask, Miss Ellen "Nellie" Meakin, Miss Marjorie Leask, Miss Kathleen Smith, Miss Mary Bruce, Miss Georgina Sanford, Miss Marion Frame, Miss Olla Horn, Miss Winnie Steen, Miss Alice Wiltshire, Miss Margaret Scott, Miss Reta Jenner, Elizabeth Wilson, Miss Jean Brown, Miss Edna G. Hawson, Miss Alice Peel, Miss Kathleen Bill, Miss Mary Ada Durnin, Miss Olgi Ewashkiw, Miss Emma J. Heaman, Miss Jean Hopley, Audrey Hodgins, Douglas Gordon, Thelma Lauree Stonehouse, Sidney Raymond “Sid” Keele (1956-1960), Miss Joyce Alexander, and Eldon Robinson.

Breadalbane School

Breadalbane School (no date) by W. R. Beveridge
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 30.

Breadalbane School commemorative monument

Breadalbane School commemorative monument (September 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.91654, W100.78348
denoted by symbol on the map above


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Lenore and Districts Homecoming, 1906-1979, Lenore School Homecoming Committee, circa 1980. [Copy held by Ed Arndt]

We thank Evelyn Keele, Sid Keele, Garry Draper, and Nathan Kramer for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 4 February 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!