Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 143 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Boyle School No. 167 (RM of Riding Mountain West)

The Boyle School District was organized formally in March 1884 and a school building was erected at the southeast corner of SW20-19-26W in what is now the Rural Municipality of Riding Mountain West. In 1889, the schoolhouse was moved to SW17-19-26W. It was destroyed by fire around 1894. A replacement was constructed at the same site and it operated until 1951 when it was sold and moved to the Lansburne area for use as a private home. The new school opened in the fall of that year. Within eight years, however, declining student enrollment necessitated its permanent closure, in August 1959. The remaining students were transported to Consolidated School No. 525. The former school building was sold. The building is no longer present at the site but a monument, unveiled on 24 May 1969, commemorates it.

The teachers of Boyle School included John Ross (1887), Miss Sharman, Miss Huehnichen, S. J. Myers (1906), Florence Nicholson, S. F. McGuire, Miss M. J. Hill (1907), Miss Scruton, Marion Storey, Lillian Storey (1908), Mary Graham (1909-1910), W. J. McLaughlin, Ellen Graham (1911-1912), Iva McDonald (1912-1913), Jean Houston (1913-1915), Bessie Rhodes (1915-1916), Laura Thorn (1916-1917), Victor G. Hillcox (1918), Edna Hall (1918-1921), Alice Nicholson (1921-1924), Jean Peddie (1924-1925), Elsie Fox (1925-1927), Clarence Tibbatts (1927-1929), Margaret Way (1929-1931), Cassie McKee (1931-1936), Dorothy Granger (1936-1938), Velma Reagh (1938-1940), Eva Tibbatts (1940-1941), Catherine Whitmer (1941-1942), Connie Lougheed (1942-1943), Shirley McPherson (1943-1944), Jean Smollett (1944-1945), Leona McIntosh (1944-1946), Ann Riley (1946-1947), Gladys Gardner (1947-1948), Marion McKay (1947-1948), Shirley Hadden (1948-1949), Helen Finlay (1949-1950), Ivan McCann (1950-1951), Arthur Klassen (1950-1951), Joan Mansell (1951-1952), Maria Michalchuk (1952-1953), Wilda Abercrombie (1953-1954), Estelle Hall (1954-1955), Margaret Chandler (1955-1956), Leona Michelson (1956-1957), Lydia Semaniuk (1957-1958), and Olga Migas (1958-1959).

Boyle School commemorative monument

Boyle School commemorative monument (June 2012)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N50.62398, W101.05535
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Silver Creek Centennial Monument (Angusville, RM of Riding Mountain West)


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

The Fox’s Tale: The History of Foxwarren and the Consolidated School District #525 by Foxwarren and District History Book Committee, 1989, page 51.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 13 February 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2022 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.