Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 141 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Ames Holden McCready Building (318 McDermot Avenue, Winnipeg)

This brick building at the corner of McDermot Avenue and Adelaide Street in Winnipeg was designed by local architect John D. Atchison and built in 1914 by Lyall-Mitchell as a warehouse for the wholesale boot and shoe firm of Ames Holden McCready of Montreal. Originally designed as a six-storey structure, the first three storeys were built with an expectation that three more storeys would be added later. This was never done.

Ames Holden McCready Building

Ames Holden McCready Building (January 2019)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Location (lat/long): N49.89793, W97.14345
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Memorable Manitobans: John Danley Atchison (1870-1959)

Memorable Manitobans: Peter Douglas Lyall (1878-1945)

Memorable Manitobans: Fred Myer Sures (1885-1937)


“Big warehouse for M’Dermot,” Winnipeg Tribune, 9 May 1914, page 6.

We thank Mary Dixon for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough and Murray Peterson.

Page revised: 8 February 2019

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Search Tips | Suggest a Site | FAQ | Acknowledgements

Send inquiries to the MHS Webmaster.

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations Policy

© 1998-2020 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.