Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 139 years


Pay & Donate in the MHS Online Shop


No. 87

in Manitoba

This Old



Historic Sites
of Manitoba

Manitoba Business: Northern Crown Bank

Known initially as the Northern Bank when it was established in Winnipeg in 1905, it was renamed the Northern Crown Bank when it absorbed the Crown Bank of Toronto in 1908. It was taken over by the Royal Bank of Canada in 1918.

Directors of the Northern Crown Bank (1911):

James Henry Ashdown (1844-1924)

Douglas Colin Cameron (1854-1921)

Robert Campbell (1861-?) - General Manager

Henry Thomson Champion (1847-1916)

William C. Leistikow (1852-?)

L. M. McCarthy - Superintendent of Branches

Daniel Hunter McMillan (1846-1933) - President

Frederick Nation (1861-1955)

William Robinson (1849-1936) - Vice-President

Rodmond Palen Roblin (1853-1937)

See also:

The Buildings of the Winnipeg-Based Union and Northern Crown Banks: A Glimpse into Early Twentieth Century Corporate Architecture by David Spector
Manitoba History, Number 21, Spring 1991

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Northern Bank Building (139 Main Street, Melita)


Advertisement, Manitoba Free Press, 16 March 1911.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 28 December 2014

Back to top of page


To report an error on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations Policy

© 1998-2018 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.