Historic Sites of Manitoba: Libau West School No. 1231 (Libau, RM of St. Clements)

Link to:
Photos & Coordinates | Sources

The Libau School District was formally established in March 1903 and a school building was erected in Libau, in the Rural Municipality of St. Clements. In 1952, it was replaced by the present wood frame and stucco structure, designed by the Winnipeg architectural firm of Prain and Ward. The school closed in January 1967 when jurisdiction for the area became the responsibility of the Lord Selkirk School Division. The building sat vacant for a time. It was later renovated as a community centre. The district also operated a second schoolhouse located about two miles east of this site, referred to as Libau East School. In 2018, a commemorative sign was installed beside the former school building.

The teachers of Libau School were George F. Schmidt (1905), Albert Moormans (1905-1906), Frederic Busch (1908), Fritz Brauer (1909), Jaroslaw Neywara (1910-1912), Kurt E. Mendeborn (1912-1915), Stanley E. Gunn (1916), Charles D. Smith (1916), Miss E. Gillies (1916), Mrs. Maude Brown (1916-1921), Ida Schmok (1918-1919), Martha Winger (1919-1920), Mollie D. Rosenstock (1920-1921), Bessie Knelman (1921), Rebecca Knelman (1921), Annie Drawson (1922-1923), Mrs. F. L. Storie (1922), Leah Sarritch (1922), Mrs. A. Wright (1922-1923), Rebecca Knelman (1923), Sarah Goodman (1924), L. McLanergan (1924), Mary E. Hughes (1924), Felix Sauer (1925), Edith Wasserman (1925-1926), Bertha Isenberg (1926-1927), Marie Prygroski (1927-1928), Clara Cohen (1928-1929), Margaret Agnes Gorowski (1929-1930), Elinor Adelaide Kronberg (1931-1933), G. B. Arilius Isfeld (1933-1934), Mary Helen Rutherford (1934-1935), Peter Jacob Willms (1935-1938), James Henry Dann (1938-1939), Harvey Disrael Gimsberg (1939-1940), Rudy Mehmel (1940-1941), Catherine MacLaren (1941), Patricia Wallace (1942-1943), Joseph Yatchew (1944), Rosalie Cecilia Holub (1944-1945), Anne Machewski (1946), Joe Walter Tysarski (1946-1947), Fred Klym (1947-1951), Metro Lysaichuk (1951-1952), Olga Jean Nakoneshny (1952-1953), Vera Ada Katazinski (1953), Balkaran Frederic John Siew (1952-1953), Mary Anne Nawolski (1953-1954), Anna Mae Kotello (1953), Diane Evelyn Kerney (1954), Vera Ada Katazinski (1954-1955), Wolfgang Alfred Paul Garton (1954-1955), Thaddeus C. Brune (1955-1957), Vera Ada Katazinski Helwer (1955-1958), Benjamin Koshel (1957-1958), Michael L. Balitsky (1958), Lenora Labun (1958-1959), John Oberton (1958-1960), Donna P. Bell (1959-1960), Florence Morris (1960-1962), Bonnie J. McTaggart (1960-1961), Mrs. Artha M. Anderson (1961-1963, 1964-1968), Mrs. Florence Jablonski (1962-1964), Henry Taylor (1963-1965), Meroslawa Horbas (1965-1967, 1969), Marie Patricia Chernetski (1966), Doreen E. Phill (1968), Verna Vera Wusaty (1969), Richard Arnold Dow (1969-1970), Catherine Mary Stevenson (1970), Mildred E. Heiman (1970), Cheryl Ann McKee (1971-1972), and Borden Hasiuk (1971-1972).

Photos & Coordinates

Libau School

Libau School (no date) by J. E. S. Dunlop
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-2, page 81.

The former Libau West School building

The former Libau West School building (December 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

The former Libau West School building and commemorative sign

The former Libau West School building and commemorative sign (August 2018)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N50.26954, W96.72265
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Libau East School No. 1231 (RM of St. Clements)


School District Formation Files [Libau School District No. 1231], GR1688, E0027, Archives of Manitoba.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

East Side of the Red, 1884-1984 by St. Clements Historical Committee, 1984.

A Study of Public School Buildings in Manitoba by David Butterfield, Historic Resources Branch, Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism, 1994, 230 pages.

School Districts of the Libau Area of Manitoba, 1887-1967 by Charlene Dusyk and Sylvia Sweetland, Winnipeg, 2017.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 15 October 2022

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!