Historic Sites of Manitoba: Huntingdon School No. 542 (Municipality of Souris-Glenwood)

The Huntingdon School District was established formally in March 1888 and a school building was erected the following year, on the southeast corner of 28-8-22 west of the Principal Meridian, in what is now the Municipality of Souris-Glenwood. In addition to fulfilling the educational needs of the community, the school also provided a venue for religious services, meetings, and social gatherings. The school closed in 1957 and, three years later, its catchment area was consolidated with Souris Consolidated School No. 2388. The former school building, its contents, and outbuildings were sold at auction in June 1958. The school is commemorated by a monument at the original site unveiled in August 1996.

Among the teachers of Huntingdon School were Robert W. McMorran (1889), Agnes J. McGregor (1892), Thomas Dickie (1892), James A. Bannerman (1892-1893), A. Stewart (1894), S. Mott (1894-1896), G. Liston (1896-1898), W. MsIsac (1899), Stuart MacPherson (1899-1902), Mabel I. Morris (1902), Kate A. McMillan (1903-1904), Lizzie R. Burns (1905), H. McNaughton (1905), Maggie E. Munn (1905), Mona Grant (1906), Mabel A. Tighe (1906), G. L. Gordon (1908), Minnie Doherty (1909), R. M. Atkinson (1910), E. I. Black (1910-1912), B. D. MacGregor (1912-1913), Pauline C. Whitmore (1913-1914), E. Stirling (1914-1915), Muriel Brigham (1917-1918), Dorothy E. Horton (1919-1920), Ruth Hetherington (1920), S. Geneve Olson (1920), L. Gertrude Hinde (1921-1922), Laura A. McCulloch (1923), H. V. Winter (1924-1925), Dorothy Riddell (1926-1927), Grace McDougall (1927-1928), M. Grace McDougall (1928-1929), Laura M. Conner (1930-1931), Dorothy I. Jack (1931-1934), Reita McMillan (1935-1937), Isobel E. Senkbe (1938-1939), Yvonne Steacy (1940-1941), W. Alice Archibald (1941-1942), Jean Dennis (1942-1943), Jean Kettles (1943-1944), Vivian Lord (1945-1947), Stanley A. Oleson (1947), Marjorie Penny (1948), M. B. Biluk (1948-1949), J. A. Prefontaine (1949-1950), Jean V. King (1950-1951), Mary Produnuik (1951-1952), Elsie Maxwell (1952-1953), Ila G. Dearden (1953-1956), and Marjorie Penny (1956-1957).

Huntingdon School

Huntingdon School (no date) by J. B. Morrison
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 87.

Huntingdon School commemorative monument

Huntingdon School commemorative monument (October 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.68035, W100.39480
denoted by symbol on the map above


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Huntingdon School No. 542: 1889-1957 by Frank Gerow, 1996. [Manitoba Legislative Library, F5649.H87, Hun 1996]

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 3 July 2019

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!