Historic Sites of Manitoba: Greenway School No. 947 (Greenway, RM of Argyle)

The Greenway School District was formally established in May 1898 and a school building was erected in Greenway in the Rural Municipality of Argyle on one acre of land bought from Mr. Oldfield for $25. The school was renovated in 1923 with a basement being dug and windows added on its east side. The school closed in June 1960 and its catchment area was divided between the Baldur Consolidated School District No. 667 and St. Alphonse Consolidated School District No. 2371. As of June 2019, the former school building still stood and was being used for equipment storage.

Among the teachers at Greenway School were Miss Hannah Clark (1904-1905), Jack Clark (1906), Miss Abbie Clayton (1907), Miss Stella Cornock (1909), Miss Pearl Dalzell (1909-1910), Miss B. L. Dowkes (1910), Mr. H. I. Grant (1911-1912), Miss Myrtle Sinclair (1912-1913), Miss Myrtle McNiven (1913-1914), Miss Myrtle Sinclair (1914-1917), Miss Frances Parsonage (1917-1918), Miss Myrtle Sinclair (1918-1919), Miss Chrissie McLennan (1919-1920), Miss Edna Campain (1920), Miss Irene Wray (1920), Miss Blanche Edwards (1921), Miss Katie Frazer (1921-1921), Miss Mary A. Craik (1922), Miss Annie J. Mowat (1922-1923), Miss Flora Margetson (1923), Miss Dorothy Dearsley (1924-1925), William G. Hume (1925-1928), Miss Gwen McGinnis (1928-1930), Miss Gladys Mcintyre (1930-1931), Violet Adeline Dale (1931-1933), Miss Lily Craik (1933-1934), James G. Dark (1934-1936), Irvine Somerville (1936-1937), Miss Priscilla Short (1937-1938), Miss Grace Fulcher (1938-1939), Miss Alice Blocker (1939), Miss Ethel Miller (1939), Miss Verna Lundy (1939-1940), Mrs. Mervin Young (1941), Miss V. M. Dougherty (1941), Miss Jean McPhail (1941-1942), Miss Nora Orchard (1942-1943), Miss Phyllis Zwaritch (1943-1944), Miss Leta McLennan (1944-1945), Miss Jane Sutherland (1945-1946), Mrs. Eleanor Conibear (1946-1947), Mrs. K. Cairns (1947-1949), Miss Leta McLennan (1949-1950), Miss Doreen Lundy (1950-1951), Miss Grace Freedy (1951-1952), Mrs. Evelyn Jones (1952-1953), Miss Esther Reimer (1953-1954), Mrs. Erna Peters (1954-1955), Art Hill (1955-1956), Miss Kathy Tornerup (1956-1957), Dan Sawatsky (1957-1958), Mrs. Doris Stone (1958-1959), Miss Marguerite Laidler (1958-1959), Mrs. Lorette Devos (1959), Mrs. Doris Stone (1959-1960), and Mrs. Rene Scott (1959-1960).

Greenway School

Greenway School (no date) by G. H. Robertson
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-2, page 28.

The former Greenway School building

The former Greenway School building (October 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

The former Greenway School building

The former Greenway School building (June 2019)
Source: Rose Kuzina

The former Greenway School building

The former Greenway School building (June 2019)
Source: Rose Kuzina

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.36420, W99.11883
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Greenway School (850 St. Matthews Avenue, Winnipeg)

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Baldur District Schools (RM of Argyle)


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

R.M. of Argyle, 1882-1982 by Rural Municipality of Argyle, 1981, page 210.

A Study of Public School Buildings in Manitoba by David Butterfield, Historic Resources Branch, Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism, 1994, 230 pages.

We thank Doreen Richmond and Rose Kuzina for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 19 March 2023

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!