Jean Friesen

Historian, MLA (1990-1995), MLA (1995-1999), MLA (1999-2003).

The founding editor of the Manitoba Historical Societys journal Manitoba History, and a Chair of the Manitoba Heritage Council (1984-1987), she taught History at the University of Manitoba until retirement in 2016.

In 1990, she was elected to the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba for the Wolseley constituency, being re-elected in 1995 and 1999, and serving as Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs (1999-2003), Deputy Premier (1999-2003), and Minister Responsible for Cooperative Development (2002-2003). She did not stand for election at the 2003 general election. She served as Chair of the Manitoba Water Council (2007-2014), and a member of the board for the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority (2014-?).

In recognition of her community service, she received the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal (2002) and Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal (2012).

Her articles for the Manitoba Historical Society:

Editors Introduction
Manitoba History, Number 1, 1981

Page revised: 15 January 2022