Manitoba Organization: Mentors’ Club of Winnipeg

This club, established in 1938, was a social organization for retired, male educators. Its first officers were: W. J. Sisler, C. W. Laidlaw, W. N. Denike, J. W. Gordon, S. S. Newton, Alfred White, Dr. Robert Fletcher, and W. J. Parr, with C. T. Cresswell as founding Secretary until 1961.




Charles Walter Laidlaw (1873-1953)


William Friesen (1904-1984)


Allan J. Ryckman (1910-1982)


Hugh Connolly (1890-1970)


Archibald Adam Herriot (1881-1956)


Jack Milburn Scurfield (1899-1974)


James Henry Kiteley (1871-1955)


Claude Elmer Luther Hogarth Law (1881-1959)


Duncan Scott McIntyre (1899-1975)


Marshall Roscoe “Ross” Thompson (1914-1990)


Garnet Milton Morrison (1915-1992)


Arthur Foster Brown (1900-1996)


Richard Wesley “Wes” McAmmond (1910-2005)

Other members included: F. D. Baragar, H. E. Bletcher, J. W. Clarke, R. M. Cross, J. W. Forhan, C. S. Gow, J. Marshall, J. T. Norquay, L. D. Peto, J. H. Plewes, H. E. Riter, R. H. Wellwood.


Obituary [C. T. Cresswell], Winnipeg Free Press, 13 December 1961, page 33.

“Former Manitoba educationist dies,” Winnipeg Free Press, 2 April 1955, page 24.

“Members of Mentors’ Club keep on talking,” Winnipeg Free Press, 2 February 1974, page 90.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 23 January 2017