Manitoba Organization: Flin Flon School District No. 2228 / Flin Flon School Division No. 46

The Flin Flon School Division was created on 1 April 1959 by an order of the Manitoba Minister of Education, acting on a recommendation of the MacFarlane Commission on Education and the School Divisions Boundaries Commission. It became responsible for all secondary education, grades 9 to 12, of the Flin Flon School District No. 2228. Eventually, it assumed control of all schools in Flin Flon.


Birchview School

Flin Flon School

Hapnot High School

Ross Lake School

See also:

Events in Manitoba History: School Divisions (1959)

Events in Manitoba History: Manitoba’s Rural School Consolidation (1905-1967)

Events in Manitoba History: School Divisions Boundaries Commission (1958-1959)

Events in Manitoba History: MacFarlane Royal Commission on Education (1957-1959)


Report of the School Divisions Boundaries Commission, 13 January 1959, Manitoba Legislative Library, SpR 1958 Education.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Profile revised: 3 April 2015