Historic Sites of Manitoba: Westwood School No. 1308 (Wheatland, Municipality of Riverdale)

The Westwood School District was established formally in March 1905 and a school operated in the village of Wheatland in what is now the Municipality of Riverdale. The school closed in June 1957 and students were transferred to Brooke School No. 2319. The Westwood district was dissolved in 1967.

Among the teachers of Westwood School were Meeta Hill (1906), Ida H. McIntosh (1907), Frank Spiers (1907, 1909), H. M. McIntosh (1908), William Meldrum (1908), S. M. Pope (1909), W. G. Currie (1910), Katie E. Boyes (1911), Bessie Archibald (1912-1913), Nita Sanderson (1913), Ivy Miners (1914-1915), Annie J. Cowing (1915-1917), Edna C. Dick (1918-1919), Annie A. Wallace (1922), William Logan (1923), Myrtle G. Graham (1923-1924, 1925-1926, 1927), Margaret Anderson (1924-1925), Nellie F. McNichol (1925), Gladys White (1925), Carl Couch (1927), Lillian Pickersgill (1927-1928), Elva J. McLenchan (1928-1930), Annie Henderson (1930-1931), Myrtle Lelonde (1931-1934), Anne Capbell (1934-1935), Florence Deacon (1935-1936), Edna M. Spiers (1936-1938), Muriel Short (1938-1940), Mary Stacey (1942-1943), Mrs. M. McKay (1943-1944), I. M. Brown (1944), Helen O. Common (1944-1946), C. Siwek (1946), Louise Lindenburg (1946-1947), Isabelle Jean Mansfield (1947-1949), Gus Dalk (1949), Ruth McInnes (1949-1950), Lavinia E. Karman (1950-1951), Kathleen V. Hill (1953-1954), Ethel M. Miles (1954-1956), and Pauline Wall (1956-1957).

After the school closed, the building was donated to the nearby Wheatland Baptist Church and moved to its grounds in 1960. It was later moved to the Chapman Museum.

Westwood School

Westwood School (no date) by J. B. Morrison
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-2, page 95.

The former Westwood School building at Chapman Museum

The former Westwood School building at Chapman Museum (September 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N50.01789, W100.29521
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Chapman Museum (Municipality of Riverdale)

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Wheatland School No. 304 (RM of Oakview)

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Westwood Collegiate (360 Rouge Road, Winnipeg)


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

A Study of Public School Buildings in Manitoba by David Butterfield, Historic Resources Branch, Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism, 1994, 230 pages.

A Brief History of Wheatland by Mrs. Ethel Lawrie and Mrs. George Muir.

We thank Tim Hogue for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 12 May 2023

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!