Historic Sites of Manitoba: The Landing School No. 951 (Municipality of WestLake-Gladstone)

The Landing School District was established in May 1898. A schoolhouse was constructed on one-half acre of land donated by lumberman and steamboat operator Peter MacArthur, on the southeast corner of SE1-14-9W in what is now the Municipality of WestLake-Gladstone. When MacArthur moved to Winnipegosis, he sold the remaining land to the school trustees for $20. The school operated until the fall of 1954 when its remaining students were transferred to Westbourne School. The district was formally dissolved in 1967 and Minute Books for the former district are held by the Portage la Prairie School Division.

Among the teachers of The Landing School were C. A. Pedlar (1898-1899), Ruby M. Ingram (1899-1901), Lorna E. Carr (1901-1902), Mariette Stephens (1902-1905), Janet A. Grant (1905-1906), Clara Mary Bemister (1905-1906), Grace M. Jones (1906-1909), Margaret J. Fraser (1909-1910), Florence H. Howden (1909-1910), Florence Haslaw (1910-1911), Allen Garland (1911-1912), Olive Manness (1912-1913), Mildred DuPre (1912-1913), Roberta A. Anderson (1913-1914), M. S. Matthews (1914-1915), Charlotte Lambert (1915-1916), Elsie B. Montgomery (1916-1917), M. G. P. Matchett (1917-1918), Salena A. Whitman (1918-1919), Gertrude E. Jackson (1919-1920), Annie I. Price Mumm (1920-1921), Edith Davey (1921-1923), Mabel D. Sopp (1923-1925), Edith Davey (1925-1930), Louise Routledge (1930-1931), Helen M. Stewart (1931-1936), Harold Sigurdson (1936-1938), Gertrude Morton (1938-1939), Myrtle I. Riach (1941-1942), A. Lillias Stewart (1942-1944), Mary Ann Perry (1944-1945), Emmanuel Victor Edmond “Ed” Emond (1945-1946), Jean McMillan (1946-1947), Muriel E. Bruce (1947-1949), H. Russell Moffat (1949-1950), Audrey Hunt (1950-1951), Emilie Paswisty (1951-1953), and Lucy Medevid (1953-1954).

Sketch of The Landing School building

Sketch of The Landing School building by Karen Braden
Source: University Women’s Club of Portage la Prairie

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N50.15265, W98.56099
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Westbourne School No. 11 (Westbourne, Municipality of WestLake-Gladstone)


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

When the West was Bourne: A History of Westbourne and District, 1860 to 1985 by Westbourne-Longbourne History, 1985, page 582.

Rural Schools of Portage la Prairie School Division #24 by Muriel Wright, 1996.

A Study of Public School Buildings in Manitoba by David Butterfield, Historic Resources Branch, Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism, 1994, 230 pages.

We thank Nathan Kramer for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 28 May 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!