Historic Sites of Manitoba: Tenby School No. 872 (Tenby, Municipality of Glenella-Lansdowne)

The Tenby School District was formed on 7 April 1896, named for a town in Wales. The first school was located at SE13-18-13W in the village of Tenby in what is now the Municipality of Glenella-Lansdowne. The present nearly-square structure, built in 1904 of concrete blocks that were popular in buildings erected between 1890 and 1905, is located at NE36-17-13W. The district was dissolved into the Pine Creek School Division in January 1968 and the school closed in the summer of the same year. The building is a municipally designated historic site as of 1995.

The teachers of Tenby School were George W. Rogers (1896, 1900), Richard L. Fell (1897-1899, 1909-1910), Bertha Smith (1900), Charlotte Lierney (1901), William A. Gerardin (1905), Edna G. B. Herald (1905), Sophia M. Walks (1906), H. W. Jamieson (1906), R. K. Finlayson (1909-1910), Kate B. Henderson (1911), Daniel Windsor (1912-1916), Joseph Jost (1917-1918), Margaret Hammel (1919), Isa Hearn (1919), Miss E. Golden (1920), Claire McDiarmid (1921), Charlotte Armenah Powell (1922), Jean Wallace (1923-1924), Elsie Isabel McKenzie (1925), Sarah Anne Young (1926-1928), Rosa Mary Kingshott (1929-1931), Margaret Helen Fairhall (1931), Margaret Chapman (Fall 1931 - Fall 1935, August-November 1935, January-June 1936), Catherine A. Hutney (December 1935, substitute), Irene Christena Pelk (Fall 1936 - Spring 1939), Mary Jane Floyde (Fall 1939 - Spring 1941), Norma Bell (Fall 1941), N. Ione Sampson (January-April 1942), Lily Schafer (April-June 1942), Elizabeth Priscilla Brandson (Fall 1942 - Spring 1944), Doris Winona Griffith (Fall 1944 - Spring 1946), Ruth Elizabeth Belton (Fall 1946 - Spring 1947), Helen Elizabeth Hanke (August 1947 - February 1948), Evelyn Joyce King (March-June 1948), Miss Natalie Bailey (1948), Mrs. Mary C. Milne (1948-1951), Miss Violet Chmelowski (1951-1952), Irene Kittner (1952-1953), Shirley Buschau (1953-1955), Stella Ktyk (1955-1956), Bernice Kittner (1956-1960), Miss Beatrice Paterson (1960-1961), Ronald Dilk (1961-1964), Mrs. M. Andrew (1964-1965), Klaus Thies (1965-1966), Margaret Gork (1966-1967), and Mrs. Ann Hoehn (1967-1968).

Tenby School

Tenby School (no date) by C. K. Rogers
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-2, page 15.

The former Tenby School building

The former Tenby School building (circa 1986)
Source: Historic Resources Branch, Public School Buildings Inventory, slide 565.

The former Tenby School building

The former Tenby School building (May 2012)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N50.50194, W99.13404
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

MHS Resources: Manitoba Bricks and Blocks

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Municipally Designated Historic Sites


Tenby School (Main Street, Tenby), Manitoba Historic Resources Branch.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Tracks of Time: Glenella and Districts by Glenella History Committee, 1990, pages 105-106. [Manitoba Legislative Library, F5648.G65 Tra]

A Study of Public School Buildings in Manitoba by David Butterfield, Historic Resources Branch, Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism, 1994, 230 pages.

Manitoba School Records Collection, Tendy School District No. 872 - Daily Registers, GR3152, Archives of Manitoba.

We thank Klaus Thies for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Allan Drysdale, Gordon Goldsborough, and Nathan Kramer.

Page revised: 19 May 2024

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!