Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 143 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Stonehill School No. 1148 (Municipality of Two Borders)

The Stonehill School District was established formally in August 1901, with a one-room frame schoolhouse was constructed the next year at SW35-5-28W in what is now the Municipality of Two Borders. The district was dissolved in 1958 and remaining students went to Broomhill Consolidated School No. 2363. A commemorative monument at the site was erected in 1985.

The teachers of Stonehill School were M. S. Guthrie (1902-1903), James A. Boles (1904-1905), George Egerton Snider (1906-1907), Sarah E. Shippam (1908), Addie I. Patterson (1908), L. Lou “Louise ” Patterson (1909), Anna E. “Annie” Stevenson (1909-1910), Myrtle Evans (1911), Myrtle Pope (1912), Isabelle V. Lee (1913), Mary McDill (1913), Beatrice Adams (1914-1915), W. H. Woodward (1915), J. Thachyk (1915-1916), Marie H. Morton (1917), I. E. Owens (1917), Beatrice Morton (1917), E. M. Mason (1917), Lily A. Nevens (1918), M. E. Gemmill (1918), Thomas McWhinney (1919-1920), Fred Steele (1920-1921), E. Madeline Bastard (1921-1922), Vera Morden [Morton] (1922), Stella C. Sleigh (1922-1923), Freda Miller (1923-1924), Gladys G. Taylor (1924-1925), Ida E. Martin (1925-1926), Gertrude I. Gilson (1926), Lila Campbell (1927-1929), Elsie Mary Leech (1929-1930), Gwendolyn Estella “Gwen” Gerdis (1930-1933), Kathleen Vera “Kay” Dempsey (1933-1935), Madeline Grace Cassils (1935-1937), Thora Margaret Kristinson (1937-1938), Irene Rose Bonniman (1938-1941), Ina Beattie (1941), Winnifred Marion McLean (1942), Rev. Anthony Friebert (1942), Eva Eliza Godfrey (1942-1943), Bertha [Dittmar?] Dittmer (1943-1944), Audrey Elizabeth Scott (1944-1945), Elizabeth Hoemsen (1945-1946), Bernice Elizabeth Anderson (1946-1947), Geraldine Henderson (1947-1948), Kathleen Ethel “Kay” Moir (1948-1950), Verla E. Harden (1953-1954), Patricia Milligan (1954), Gertrude Bateman (1954-1955), Sylvia Rose McLean (1955-1956), Sarah Park (1956-1957), Sarah Baker (1957), and Laura Penny (1957-1958).

Stonehill School

Stonehill School (no date) by George Hunter
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-2, page 66.

Stonehill School commemorative monument

Stonehill School commemorative monument (October 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.43610, W101.16616
denoted by symbol on the map above


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Trails Along the Pipestone by Pipestone History Project, c1981, pages 719-722. [Manitoba Legislative Library, F5648.P56 Tra]

Reflections of Time: A History of the RM of Albert by RM of Albert History Book, 1984. [Manitoba Legislative Library, F5648.A43 Ref]

Manitoba School Records Collection, Stonehill School District No. 1148 Daily Registers, GR0466, Archives of Manitoba.

We thank Sylvia Halls for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough and Nathan Kramer.

Page revised: 18 January 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep
history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2022 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.