Historic Sites of Manitoba: Princess School No. 410 (Municipality of Brenda-Waskada)

The Princess School District was established formally in June 1885, and a school building was erected on the southwest quarter of 4-3-25 west of the Principal Meridian, in what is now the Municipality of Brenda-Waskada. It closed in January 1958 and its remaining students went to Waskada Consolidated School No. 492. The former schoolhouse was moved to NW3-3-25W and used as a residence. A monument at the former school site was dedicated on 28 June 1981.

Among the teachers of Princess School were Miss Perrin or Miss Gilroy (1885), Henry Thompson (1892), Maud Van Blaricom (1893), Martha Slater (1894), Hugh Elliott (1895), Ellathea McDonald (1896-1898), Alice Schmidt (1899), Mary McComb (1900), P. H. Boden (1901), E. J. Thomas (1902), M. Bertha Snell (1903), James McDonald (1903), S. Allis Baxter (1904), E. J. Thomas (1905), Mrs. Crawford (1911), Miss Vlara DeWitt (1912), Miss Mary Hall (1913-1914), Miss Laura Robinson (1914), Miss Gladys Millichamp (1915), Miss Dolina Campbell (1916), Miss Katie McGregor (1917), Mary C. Johnstone (1918), Miss Beatrice Morton (1918), Miss May DeWitt (1919), Miss Velma Mackie (1920), Miss Estelle Spence (1920-1922), Miss Thelma Strong (1923), Miss Stella A. Clement (1923-1925), Miss Florence Merrill (1925-1926), Miss M. Naylor (1926-1927), Mis Gwen R. Hawcutt (1927-1934), Miss E. Rose Barnes (1934-1935), Miss Mabel Clement (1935-1936), Mis Esther Caldwell (1936-1937), Miss Edythe Stevenson (1937-1940), Miss Irene Dafoe (1940), Miss Jean Coutts (1941), Miss Olive McKay (1941), Mrs. Andy Palmer (1941-1942), Miss Jean Coutts (1942-1943), Miss Violet Hinchey (1943-1944), Miss Alice Evans (1944-1945), Miss Kathy Mazur (1945-1946), Miss Agatha Sawatzky (1946-1947), Miss Vivian Richards (1947-1948), Miss Agatha Sawatzky (1948-1949), Miss Muriel Hamblin (1949-1950), Miss Lorna Hainsworth (1950-1953), Miss Thelma Langley (1953-1954), Miss Wilma Burton (1954-1955), Miss Leona Ryberg (1955-1957), and Ray Zelowsky (1957-1958).

Princess School

Princess School (no date) by George Hunter
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 46.

Princess School commemorative monument

Princess School commemorative monument (October 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.17794, W100.80337
denoted by symbol on the map above


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Bridging Brenda: The History of Brenda Municipality and Area, Volume 1 by Brenda History Committee, 1990, pages 117-120.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 29 October 2022

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!