Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 141 years


Pay & Donate in the MHS Online Shop

Prairie History No. 1

No. 1

Fundraising Dinner 2020

Endangered Top 10
Top 10

Jens Munk at Churchill
Field Trip:

War Memorials in Manitoba
in Manitoba

This Old Elevator
This Old

Abandoned Manitoba

Memorable Manitobans

Historic Sites of Manitoba
Historic Sites
of Manitoba

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Poplar Grove School No. 686 (RM of Blanshard)

Link to:
Principals | Vice-Principals | Teachers | Photos & Coordinates | Sources

The Poplar Grove School District was established in February 1892 and, for some time, classes were held in the home of William Howden. Later that year, a school building was erected at SW14-14-21 on land donated by Howden. The school closed in June 1962, after which students from the area went to Cardale Consolidated School No. 1763 or Rivers Consolidated School No. 1484. The district was dissolved in December 1964 and its area was later added to the Rolling River School Division. The building was sold to a local farmer and moved for use as a garage. A monument at the former school site was erected by Russell Wiltsey, Ellwood Wiltsey, and Fred Clack, on land donated by Allan Wiltsey.

The Poplar Grove School yell was:

Zilica zee, zilica zee,
Poplar Grove scholars, yes are we.
Are we proud of it? Well, I guess.
Poplar Grove scholars, yes! yes! yes!

Teachers of Poplar Grove School

The teachers who worked at Poplar Grove School through the years included Martha J. Ireton (1892-1894), Thomas D. Brown, Robert Gill (1896-1897), Allison E. Adams, Caroline Emily Short (1899), Belle Riddell, Sarah Reid Haacke, J. Brethour, Rupert Welands, Lillian Hunter, John Wesley Peters (1905-1907, 1921-1925), Maude Howden, Grace McLean, Helen Winstone, Amy Champan, Enid Elliott (1913), Dorothy Winslow, D. E. Wilson, E. L. Aikinhead, Ada L. Bridge, A. McKinnon, Mina McGuffin, Mrs. Primmer, Jessie Elizabeth Dayton (1919), Margery Donegh, Vera L. Buchanan (1926-1927), Frances Girling, Marjory Graham (1927), Muriel G. Cunningham (1928), Connie M. Averill (1929), E. Muriel Dodge (1930), D. V. Smeeton, Hazel Short Patmore (1935-1936), R. N. Currie, Eleanor Wareham (1938-1939), Mrs. Bowles, E. E. Hennan, D. H. Primmer, H. G. Peterson, Joyce McFarland, Zetta Switzer, Evelyn Downey, Mary Adams, W. G. Armstrong, Ruth Greenaway, Arthur Peters, Ethel Fortune Wyatt (1947-1948), Shirley M. Seater, Pearl Louise Young, Lucy M. McConaghy, Hazel Ingram, Sylvia Sobkaw, Mildred C. Longstaff (1953-1955), Robert A. Walton (1955-1958), and Heather Mundell Moore (1958-1959).

Photos & Maps

Poplar Grove School

Poplar Grove School (1920s) by W. C. Hartley
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 108.

Poplar Grove School

Poplar Grove School monument (August 2014)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Location (lat/long): N50.18183, W100.25365
denoted by symbol on the map above


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Leaves of the Past: Poplar Grove S.D. No. 686, 1892-1964 by The Book Committee, circa 1980.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 29 November 2015

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Search Tips | Suggest a Site | FAQ | Acknowledgements

Send inquiries to the MHS Webmaster.

Back to top of page


To report an error on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations Policy

© 1998-2020 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.