Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 141 years


Pay & Donate in the MHS Online Shop

Endangered Top 10
LG History

Fundraising Dinner 2020

Endangered Top 10
Top 10

Jens Munk at Churchill
Field Trip:

Manitoba History No. 90

No. 90

Memorable Manitobans of 2019
of 2019

War Memorials in Manitoba
in Manitoba

This Old Elevator
This Old

Abandoned Manitoba

Memorable Manitobans

Historic Sites of Manitoba
Historic Sites
of Manitoba

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Pacific School No. 749 (RM of Wallace-Woodworth)

Pacific School District was formally established in April 1893 and a school building was erected on the northeast quarter of 26-10-27 west of the Principal Meridian, in the Rural Municipality of Wallace. The school closed in January 1965 and its remaining students went to Virden Consolidated School No. 144. The building is no longer on the site and a fieldstone monument unveiled in July 1982 commemorates it.

The teachers of Pacific School were T. Milly Farr (1893-1895), D. Muldrew (1895), Rebecca Bayne (1896-1897), Albert E. Bradley (1897-1899), Hannah Haw (1899-1904), Edith Fraser (1905), Agnes Lane (1905), H. D. Cameron (1906), Minnie F. Ford (1907-1909), Marion Pollock (1910-1911), Jean L. Strang (1912-1913), Violet M. Moir (1914-1915), Viola Sanford (1916), Mabel Thompson (1917), Birdie Hepburn (1918), Florence Good (1918), May Stewart (1918-1919), Florence Hepburn (1919-1921), Mary Armstrong (1921-1922), Charlotte Clarke (1923-1925), Joyce Emma Wiles (1925-1927), Annie Beryl Guthrie (1928-1929), Verlie Metcalf (1929-1933), Muriel M. Lamont (1933-1935), Marjorie Velma Rennick (1935-1937), Dorothy Isobel Wherrett (1938-1939), Gertrude E. D. Carefoot (1939-1941), Muriel B. McIntosh (1941-1942), Jessie E. Hay (1942-1944), May Dempsey (1944-1946), Mary L. Boulton (1946-1947), Hazel H. Grieve (1947-1948), Lorne A. Chapple (1948-1949), Kathleen Thompson (1949-1950), Barbara Janet Hedison (1950-1952), Anne M. Thiessen (1952-1953), Dora A. M. Stewart (1953-1954), Joan Matychuk (1954-1955), Ila Morgan (1955-1956), Patricia M. Davison (1956-1957), Mary Ellen Roach (1957-1961), Sarah Bessie Montgomery (1961-1962), Murray William Sangster (1962-1963), Diana M. Rae (1963-1964), and Ellen V. Bickford (1964-1965).

Pacific School

Pacific School (no date) by W. R. Beveridge
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 119.

Pacific School commemorative monument

Pacific School commemorative monument (September 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Location (lat/long): N49.88601, W101.00880
denoted by symbol on the map above


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Binding Our Districts by History Book Committee, 1989. [Legislative Library of Manitoba, F5648.H374 Bin]

Obituary [Mrs. John Wiggins], Miniota Herald, 21 August 1969, page 4.

We thank Nathan Kramer for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 24 August 2018

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Search Tips | Suggest a Site | FAQ | Acknowledgements

Send inquiries to the MHS Webmaster.

Back to top of page


To report an error on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations Policy

© 1998-2020 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.