MHS Online Fundraising Auction: 21 -28 September 2022

MHS Smarty Party: 20 October 2022

Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 143 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Montgomery School No. 357 (RM of Wallace-Woodworth)

Montgomery School District was formally established in January 1885 with classes held in a frame building on the farm of William Montgomery on the southwest quarter of 22-11-26 west of the Principal Meridian, in what is now the Rural Municipality of Wallace-Woodworth. In 1912, the original building was replaced with a brick structure which was used until January 1965 when the school closed and its remaining students went to Virden Consolidated School No. 144. In 1967, the building was purchased by the local lodge of the Canadian Order of Foresters for use as a hall and community centre. After dissolution of the lodge in 1998, the Wallace Community Club assumed responsibility for the hall. It was demolished in 2005. A brick model and plaque dedicated by former students in 2009 commemorates it.

Among the teachers who worked at Montgomery School through the years were Maggie Jones (1885), Nellie Elliott (1886), Lizzie A. Schultis (1887), Mary Steele (1888), Alfred B. Stewart (1888), Anne R. Lang (1889), Jennie Finn (1889), John Wesley Peters (1890-1892), Thomas B. Green (1892-1894), Hattie Andrews (1895-1896), William Houston (1897-1901), H. Louise Proutt (1902-1904), W. Rogers (1904), Nellie M. Emmond (1905), Maude Carmichael (1906), Rose L. Collins (1907-1908), Mary F. Beattie (1908-1909), Margaret Mackay (1909-1910), Jean Rothnie (1910-1911), R. Mary Dodds (1911-1913), Isabella Lea (1913-1914), Leta McFarland (1915-1917), A. Merle Titmus (1918), Merle Norsworthy (1919), Elva E. McPhadgen (1919), Henry Herbert McKeen (1920), Violet Moir (1920-1922), Nora Davidson (1922-1923), Bertha Renwick (1923-1924), Violet M. Moir (1924-1925), Nellie M. Gable (1925-1926), Nevada Mattick (1926-1927), Ada P. Herkos (1927-1930), Maude Mountain (1930-1932), Ada Heritage (1932), Agnes Bannerman (1932), Miss Swartzman (1932), Ethel G. Stewart (1933-1935), Dora A. Vincent (1935-1937), Margaret E. Montgomery (1937-1938), Shirley Johnson (1938-1940), Jennie Bonner (1940-1942), Grace Williams (1942-1943), Margery Bees (1943-1944), Mrs. G. Croy (1943-1944), Ina Smith (1944-1945), Marjorie Wilson (1945-1946), William Davison (1945-1946), Otto Perlette (1946-1947), Florence Twigg (1947-1948, 1949-1951), Marjorie Kinnaird (1948-1949), Jeneva Wood (1951-1952), Charlotte Wilson (1952-1957), Shirley Ivey (1957-1958), Mrs. A. Paul (1957-1958), Mrs. M. Harkness (1957-1958), Mrs. Cameron (1957-1958), Mrs. Scramsted (1958-1959), Diana Rae (1959-1961), Mrs. A. Paul (1959-1961), and Mrs. T. Tapp (1962-1965).

Montgomery School

Montgomery School (no date) by W. R. Beveridge
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 26.

Montgomery School

Montgomery School (November 1985)
Source: Manitoba Historic Resources Branch, HRR4358.

The former Montgomery School building

The former Montgomery School building (circa 1986)
Source: Historic Resources Branch, Public School Buildings Inventory, slide 1447.

Interior of the former Montgomery School building

Interior of the former Montgomery School building (circa 1986)
Source: Historic Resources Branch, Public School Buildings Inventory, slide 1451.

Montgomery School monument

Montgomery School monument (September 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.93122, W100.96513
denoted by symbol on the map above


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

A Study of Public School Buildings in Manitoba by David Butterfield, Historic Resources Branch, Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism, 1994, 230 pages.

We thank Nathan Kramer for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 17 February 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2022 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.